Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2011, 10:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Aquac remora

I recently bought an Aquac Remora Protein Skimmer with a Rio800 pump. It's been a week and it still hasn't collected a cup of waste. Do I wait longer for the so called "break-in process" or return the skimmer?
__________________

__________________
malang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 11:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Is it collecting any waste? Whats your system like? It may just need some adjustments.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 12:12 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i've had mine running in mine for close to a month now and it doesn't collect much, i guess my filters are cleaning the water well, at the same time its only a small 26 gallon so it shouldn't take much to keep clean
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 12:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
it's junk. that's the reason you aren't collecting any waste.
trust me, i've ran one of these for about 7 months. return it if you can. buy an octopus HOB.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:13 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle-ish, WA
Posts: 5,340
Regardless of whether or not it worked or didn't work for Mr X, it'll work if you have anything to skim. It might not work as well as other skimmers out there, but it'll work.

How long has the tank been set up? Is there even any waste to collect? Where do you have the collection cup set at?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 03:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
I have a 55 gallon tank with an 300 aquaclear filter with a sponge,carbon, and biomax bags inside. I also have two aquaclear 30 powerheads connected to a undergravel filter. The tank has been running for about 7 months, but I only have a yellow tang, a four striped damsel, a chocolate chip starfish, and snails.
__________________
malang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 07:54 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle-ish, WA
Posts: 5,340
Where do you have the collection cup set at?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:02 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
I don't how to exactly answer that question. It's set at the factory setting with half of the cup exposed, but I have a drain fitting attachment that runs into a large container. The cup is barely half full and the container is empty.
__________________
malang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:03 PM   #9
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:05 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle-ish, WA
Posts: 5,340
That's why you're not skimming. You need to adjust that cup up and down, depending on how wet or dry you want to skim. There is no "factory setting". If you want more skimmate, push the cup farther down into the unit. Less skimmate... pull it higher up. Depending on what is going on in your tank, you'll need to adjust the height of the cup now and then.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:05 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the rubber band on the collection cup is holding it in place. you can raise and lower the cup to adjust it.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:28 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Right, I have the rubberband all the way at the top. So I guess its at max skimming.
__________________
malang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:03 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
six2sevenproductions's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Pedro (Los Angeles), Ca
Posts: 160
i have the aqua c urchin and i love mine. I believe its similar to the remora. if there is nothing to skim it will still skim just a lot less. I am sure there are way better skimmers out there but less maintenance with decent production is better for me.

When production decreases i open the injector screw and clean out the inside. However, I dont think this is your problem. might just not be anything to skim

There is really nothing to mess with besides the cup height. It really is a plug and play skimmer.
__________________
six2sevenproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:55 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
I kind of had that idea but I wasn't sure. Thanks again for the help.
__________________
malang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:43 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle-ish, WA
Posts: 5,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by malang View Post
Right, I have the rubberband all the way at the top. So I guess its at max skimming.
But didn't you say...

Quote:
It's set at the factory setting with half of the cup exposed
If half the cup is exposed, the rubberband isn't all the way at the top, so I'm kinda confused.

If the cup is down as far as it can go, you won't be able to see much of the cup at all.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:21 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
What I meant to say was when it was installed straight out of the box the rubberband was nearly at the top. I waited for a couple days, didn't see any waste so I moved it closer to the top without making it fall off. Now the cup is barely visible, but its connected to a drain fitting and there barely isn't anything in my waste container either.
__________________
malang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:57 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
six2sevenproductions's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Pedro (Los Angeles), Ca
Posts: 160
I gues you can test to see if it is working by overfeeding for a few days straight. It really will increase production but i highly do not recomend doing that. Just a thought.
__________________

__________________
-----SCRK member-----
Follow me on twitter: Reefer_Addict
six2sevenproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquac, remora

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AquaC Remora help ulfius General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-02-2008 01:22 PM
aquac remora dngonzales General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-02-2005 10:54 AM
AquaC Remora FlyingL0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-25-2005 05:56 PM
AquaC remora james00 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 12-22-2004 09:49 PM
AquaC Remora salituro Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-06-2003 09:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.