Bald Faced Newbie - Part I - Lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jgpa

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am brand spanking new into this money pit, I have all the usual questions. I am going to try to keep them segregated by topic instead of having all the varying advice subjects lumped into another newbie thread.

I can contribute - anyone have any chemistry questions, I have a degree. No, I am not a chemist, I have a degree and never used it professionally. There is a difference.

OK, my hobby has been seeded w/ a free 55G tank. My research and store browsing has led us to conclude we would like a nice soft coral reef tank with a few pretty fishies and some crustaceans and other inverts. I will seed the tank with some uncured LR and slowly build from there. I have assembled all the initial parts, am just awaiting the bucket of salt.

Knowing my goals above what lighting wavelengths are recommended? I have a total 260W (4x65W broad spectrum @ 6700 Kelvins). I suspect I will need to replace one or two?

Thanks.

With that lighting on a 55g, you'll do just fine with whatever soft corals and LPS corals you want. If those bulbs are of unknown age, I'd replace them all regardless of what type of bulbs you want. Personally, I'd replace them all and go with 2x 10,000K bulbs and 2x actinic (420nm or equal). With a reef tank, I think you'd prefer the whiter light of the 10,000K over the 6700K. But we've got plenty of lighting gurus that I'm sure will chime in soon! What light fixture is it?

Welcome aboard, and keep asking the questions. Sounds like you've done a fair bit of research already and that's a good thing. Especially like your comment "... and slowly build from there." Slow is a good thing too.

I agree with Kurt, slow is good! Taking your time and researching everything before you make a move is a very smart way to play this game!