Best overflow / return pump?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

catmel

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi everyone,
I'm setting up a 75 gallon tank here in a few months ( upgrading from my 55 gallon) and am going to have a 20 gallon sump this time ( did not have a sump before). I have the sump, new skimmer, tank etc.. I just need to get the plumbing for the sump/tank.

The tank is not drilled. I was wondering with everyones experience what the best overflow is for the the money. I am new to the sump world, and would like some expert input ;) Ive looked around, but not sure what would work best.

Im also looking for a return pump. Ive been told rio is a good brand?

thanks so much for the help!

To me the Mag pumps are the best. I used to have Rio but never again. Eshopps makes a nice HOB overflow I used to use when I had my 55 gallon reef. Glad to hear about the upgrade Melinda.

Eshopps have some pretty gigantic overflows. I would look into something called a MAME overflow. It's pretty discrete and i've seen it being used on really beautiful tanks. It's hardly noticeable because every part to the overflow is made clear. You should check it out. I hear it's pretty expensive for an overflow box though.. but if you've got the money then oh well. Right?

I hear lifereef overflow boxes are good but expensive,I use an eshopps 800,nice piece of kit,no problems and i use the ehiem pump

Pump size depends on what your having in the tank,min 750gph for fowlr 1000 - 1500gph min for reef

I hear lifereef overflow boxes are good but expensive,I use an eshopps 800,nice piece of kit,no problems and i use the ehiem pump

Pump size depends on what your having in the tank,min 750gph for fowlr 1000 - 1500gph min for reef