Can I dim LEDs if supposedly "non-dimmable"?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Softie Guy

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey folks. It is good to be on Aquaruim Advice. This is my first time on a forum for many years.

I just started my first aquarium ever, 75 gallon reef tank with a 30 gallon refugium thanks to my brother's help. I recently purchased a 48 inch "Green Element Evo" fixture from aquatraders.com which has 64 LEDs at 3 watts each. Here is a link for the fixture:
EVO Quad 48 LED Reef Bright
I was interested in using a dimmer switch for the LEDs; howerver, the support at aquatraders said these lights could not be dimmed. I heard on a podcast that someone came up with a dimmer for T5 fixtures. What would happen if I used a dimmer switch or a less powerful power supply for my LED fixture? Serious problems? Would the fixture just not work? I would appreciate any help you all could give.

Yes you can dim the LEDs but you will have to use an external dimmer. They have the plug and play ones at Home Depot or Lowes in the lighting section.

dimmers on the market

I asked the tech support at aquatraders if an external dimmer could be used and they said, "no." Still, it would not suprise me if it worked just fine. Here is one I found online for under $8. Is this the kind you saw at Home Depot? Thanks for the help!

BS! Power is power. Check the minimum power ratings if the LEDs just in case, but I am using LEDs on my 75 gal Amazon tank with a dimmer, and I have no problems. The slider or dial dimmer will work best. Just make sure you get a plug and play dimmer that plugs into the wall, and plug your fixture into it and presto...... you have the ability to dim LED lights.

FYI, I purchased the dimmer & the Aquatraders was right. These LEDs cannot be dimmed. Anyone want a used dimmer for $10. It was only used once.