Changing the Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Relic1882

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone. I'm new at this whole site and at fish things so please bear with me. :)

I have a new 29gal freshwater tank. I have some fish in it now, and it's still going through the cycle process. I don't plan on doing anything with my filter until the cycle is long overwith but I do have a question for the future.

I've heard some people say that you hardly ever have to actually change the filter because I understand I want to keep my bacteria to prevent the whole cycle process from restarting. I also have a friend who says you can change the whole filter but just keep a small piece of the old filter in there. I used to have a 15gal tank a couple years ago and I changed the filter every 3 to 4 weeks and it never really gave me a problem. Should I just clean my filter with tank water or should I just replace it like I used to.

I want to make sure I do the right thing, obviously, and I can't find a straight answer to this question yet. Thanks for the help!

Oh, by the way I'm using a Regent power filter with 1 filter. (Man that thing is quiet!)

It's only used to trap stuff ( poop, food, rotting plants etc ) so I would only change it when rinsing it doesn't work anymore and you see the water going over it instead of threw it 8)

Just rinse it out in water you've pulled from the tank during water changes and you'll be able to recycle it many times before it needs replacing.

I'm not familiar with your filter type, but check and see if any of the foam inserts Aqua Clear makes will fit inside the filter box: these can literally be rinsed and reused for years and years. Saves lots of money, plus you never throw your bio-bugs away!