Diatom filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lonewolfblue

Aquarium Advice Addict
I've never used a diatom filter before. How do you set it up? where do you put the fine powder? And how often should it be changed out?

What model is it? I used to have a Vortex diatom filter, the diatom powder went in the canister, on the outside of the filter bag. Worked like any canister filter, intake/outflow hoses, etc. Not sure how often it needs changing, it filters incredibly small particles, as well as anything larger. Not necessary to run all the time, mainly for polishing cloudy water. They will filter out Ich.

from what I know its setup like this, you have a bottle that hangs in the tank and fills with water, you put your intake and output hoses bothi n this bottle and turn the machine on for am inutes so it can prime itself, then once its primed you put the hoses in the actual tank itself abd let it do its job. the powder needs to be replaced after every use according to the manufactors specs. now you can go a couple times without changing but it can clog up and the water quality won't be as good. its not as bad as it sounds considering the filter would really only need to be ran but once or twice a month

I was looking at the vortex....

Main purpose is getting rid of green water. I don't have it bad, but would like to remove it with the filter while I get my parameters straightened out. Then maybe run it once a month for polishing.

this is exaclty my problem I do not have perfect clear water, it is a bit towards green, this type of filter will do the job? or a UV from what I heard.