DIY wet dry sump for saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

beast001

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hello im very new to this. I have a 120g freshwater tank that i want to make a saltwater reef tank. I dont really have the money to buy a new $200 wet dry system but i do have a 29g tank laying around. I saw a video on youtube where a guy turned 5 gallon buckets into a wet dry sump filter. I was wondering if this was possible because it seems very easy. ill attach the youtube link.

what else should i add to this filter other than a protein skimmer to make a simple easy, and most of all cheap reef tank?

For a reef tank, this isn't the route you want to take. You'll want a sump on the setup so you can then pick the way to do it. This will be via protein skimming, refugium, or even an algae turf scrubber. I just got done making my own turf scrubber and it was overwhelmingly simple and pretty cheap.

it is a sump setup just using buckets for the wet/dry/drip portion. Depending on the size of container/tank used, there is plenty of room for other equipment.

It will work for a reef setup, but not the ideal solution by a longshot.

IMO wet/dry systems and many sump configurations are backwards.
the objective is to remove as much waste from the system as possible and get the most efficient benefit from the bacteria colonies.
As such putting the wet/dry/biological portion as the first part of the filtration scheme puts a greater burden on the bacterial colonies as they are the first "defense" so to speak. The idea behind wet/dry systems is to provide more oxygenation of the water for the bacteria to use so it doesn't deplete the overall oxygen saturation of the entire system which can happen if a system has a large bacterial population and inadequate oxygenation.