Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2012, 09:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Am thinking about finally buying a Internet capable controller and like the Reefkeeper. Mostly want it for sensors.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 11:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
I am too impatient for y'all. I ordered the Elite with the net option. I am going to adapt it to talk to my router wirelessly. The old tank goes computer.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 11:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hardridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
I love mine don't use Internet but every thg else is grest
__________________
Hardridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 09:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Just ordered apex lite with ph probe. So excited. Biggest purchase to date. I am also going away on business next week so I'll be able to use monitor on my iPhone
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 05:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Just got it setup. Works great. Only disappointment is that the bus cables that connect everything are not cat5 but phone cables that are modified for data (straight thru). This is a pain as I can make cat5 cables but need a different tool to make these. It also means since the data isn't IP based, I can't use wireless technology to place a module down in my fish room. Have to run a old fashioned phone cable...drats!

It was a bit of a pain as it isn't real clear at first how data recording and such were handled. But it makes sense now.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Is that the reefkeeper? I will be getting my apex Monday
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Yes...I bought the Reffkeeper Elite. After adding up the modules I wanted, it was a better deal.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mpfaff77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 380
Yes it was. I figure I could add modules down the road. Definite want to add conductivity module and probe for 160 or so I think.
__________________
Mpfaff77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 02:03 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
I just ordered the second sensor module that adds salinity. With the ORP probe it is a pretty comprehensive system that they seem keen on enhancing.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
One BIG downside. The graphing capability they show in their ads on using the head unit has been dropped without telling anyone. You can graph if you connect up a computer, but not stand alone anymore. Had I known this, I would not have purchased this unit as I was after something that could give me a visual trend without a PC being on all the time. "Oh, by the way, that unit you bought doesn't do what it says it can do anymore, sorry" doesn't cut it with me.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
I still havent figured out the graphing. how does it work? I usually program with my netbook so I would be using a computer.

thanks for any help you can give me on this! other than that i am more than pleased with my RKE.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:16 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
I still havent figured out the graphing. how does it work? I usually program with my netbook so I would be using a computer.

thanks for any help you can give me on this! other than that i am more than pleased with my RKE.
There are two methods. First logging has to be enabled for the sensor you want to graph. You can connect with MyReef2.0 and the USB cord they provide to your netbook or desktop. If you have the NET module, you can plug the system module into your router and interface with the RKE's built in web page. Both will allow you to bring up graphs.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 06:43 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
How do I enable the sensor? Is it in myreef2.0 somehwere? i see graphs on the left side screen but there isnt anything underneath it.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 07:13 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
How do I enable the sensor? Is it in myreef2.0 somehwere? i see graphs on the left side screen but there isnt anything underneath it.
I think it's under the tab "logging" it starts to build a file that the system uses to produce the graph. It may not work without the NET module though. The web interface is a bit more comprehensive than MyReef surprisingly.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 05:14 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
I have had the Reefkeeper for almost a month now and the head unit has blanked out. Called Digital Aquatics and with a credit card, they are cross shipping me a new one. Evidently there have been issues with these head units failing. While I like the unit in general, I cannot recommend it at this time as a result of this failure.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
controller, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Sixty Gallon Build :) George9 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2007 02-10-2013 05:13 PM
Hi from the UK jondamon Member Introductions 25 03-28-2012 11:38 AM
Found this guy in the feeder bin Khalix Cichlid Discussion 8 03-22-2012 05:49 AM
Manny the Blackmoor GoldFish Lainey183 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 31 03-20-2012 08:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.