Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gman42

Aquarium Advice Addict
MY ac50 broke, and i need a new filter for my 40g african cichlid tank. I have an aqueon 10 filter on it, and my back up whisper 20 with my ac50 filter media in it. I was thinking of getting this canister filter. Its cheap, but ive heard good reviews on it. If u have any input on the canister filter, or a good filter that i could get( under $80), it would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00892EN22/ref=mp_s_a_5?pi=75x75&qid=1344807175&sr=8-5

HUKIT said:
I have no experience with those but for another $20 I'd get the Fluval. They're quiet, reliable, and you can get parts almost anywhere. I'd get the 305 over the 306 to save some money.

Fluval 305 External Canister Filter - 110V, 260 gallons per hour: Amazon.com: Pet Supplies

+1 if you can do a canister you and your fish will much happier IMO. Fluval makes a solid canister is so does Rena. I have a Fuval fx5 and glad I went the canister route. I do still have my AC110 for different media as its easier to get to. I like using polishing pads etc..

Thank you for the input, im going to order the filter tonight, and hopefully get it soon. Ill post which filter i decide on later.

Ive been hearing really bad reviews on the fluval. Ppl r saying it will lose all power after a year. Idk which one too get

Ive been hearing really bad reviews on the fluval. Ppl r saying it will lose all power after a year. Idk which one too get

Nonsense, I've had Fluvals running for 8-10 years. I've got some older 403's still running. I think most experienced hobbyist won't have any issues, it's the ones who don't take care things such as maintenance that have issues.

Thanks for the quick response, that makes me feel better. What kind of maitenance do you do?