Filter question!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sarahsunshine

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi, Newbie here... use small words so I can understand!!!

I'm currently setting up a 20g high tank, and want to put in a community like this:
AquStockImage.php

I am currently learing about filters. I have an old Aquaclear 300 (kijiji), and an Aquatech 5-15 (from an old 10g). The AC300 has a HUGE amount of flow, that may cause some problems, but I'm told it probably has the best filtration capacity. I just bought a AC20, thinking it would be best, but now I see that that was a mistake and will return it.

Does anyone have a suggestion as to what a good filter would be
for a newbie who has never had success keeping fish alive for any length of time? I hesitate to go out and spend lots of money on a filter and/or fish when they just keep dying. It's a catch-22. I hope that getting cycling down and lots of water changes, and a decent but not too expensive filter will change all this. Then, if I can keep them alive for a while, I may get into things in a more expensive way (bigger tank, nice filter, bigger fish).

A good place to get stuff from would be good too - in Canada!

I would get a Aquaclear 30 or 50 depending on your desire to expand in the future.
Both have adjustable flow rates and are very quiet.

return the ac20 and get an ac30 or ac50.
your ac70 (ac300) may be a bit much for a 20g, but i would probably use it, personally. you can diffuse the output, and set the flow to its lowest rating (activating the re-filtration system built into the filter), and you should be fine with your current stock list.

return the ac20 and get an ac30 or ac50.