Fish feeders

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sailorlady

Aquarium Advice Newbie
St. Petersburg FL, just moved here from the Virgin
Hi, Newbie here,
I have to go away for about 6 days in about 2 mos. Have 12 fish, Freshwater, 20 gals, ( I know, I know...put BioSpira in yesterday and everybody looks good....so far). I have had the tank for about 3 wks. now, with fish (I know, I know).
My question is: has anyone got a recommendation for a reliable fish feeding mechanism which will take care of them at least once/day while i am gone for this time? Not too worried about the price, just the care of these lil survivors.
Sure would appreciate any help here.
Margo

From my readings (at least in SW) those feeders don't work too well. Do you have some one that can check on and feed, do FW top-offs on your tank?
I am going to move this to the General Hardware/Equipment Section.

Most any of them you find that are battery driven will work fine. I have one I keep around for when I am away for more than 3 days and can't find anyone to come over and feed the tank. Esp for FW tanks. They are not perfect but in a pinch they work well enough to bridge the gap

I actually just got back from a 8-day trip and my feeder worked perfectly. I have the Top Fin feeder for $23.99 at PetSmart. It has settings so you can chose a feeding amount, and for it to feed every 12 or 24hrs. I set it up, played with it a bit, and when I got back, everyone was still alive!

Thanks to all

Appreciate the help...plan for sure to get one early to set up, use, observe. Make sure the fishies are getting fed properly.