Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-10-2017, 03:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 294
Fluval aquasky timer

Would anyone happen to know any compatible timers that could go with the fluval aquasky led light? My plants are being burnt. The timer that fluval sells has gotten horrible reviews.

__________________
Mark_the_shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 03:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Any timer should work. You can get a simple 5 bucks one or a strip with it built in
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 06:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 16,436
You could try a piece of screen like for windows to cut back the amount of light getting into the tank too.
__________________
New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?

Start here - Aquarium Advice Article
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/

FW Favorites right now Clown Loaches, any shrimp - SW Vase Red Mangroves
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 06:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autumnsky View Post
You could try a piece of screen like for windows to cut back the amount of light getting into the tank too.
That might help. Right now i have no lif on top
__________________
Mark_the_shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 06:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
You can tape up some leds to. If you at least run it while at work it will be better than 24/7
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 06:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 16,436
You could cut a strip or 2 and whip stitch / sew it together with heavy duty fishing line or coat utility grade thread to cage it. Or tape!
__________________
New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?

Start here - Aquarium Advice Article
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/

FW Favorites right now Clown Loaches, any shrimp - SW Vase Red Mangroves
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
skrapeNKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 210
The design of the Fluval ramp timer is garbage, but I'm using one with my Aquasky lights anyway. My menu button and down button work (the up button 'worked' for about two presses), so if you don't mind scrolling forever it's not terribly difficult to set and works very well afterwards.

The Current USA ramp timers should work with them as well, and they seem to get much better reviews! I would have gone with one originally, but I wanted to get a timer set up before leaving on a vacation and the LFS only stocks the Fluval ramp timer and basic on-or-off models.
__________________
skrapeNKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 02:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by skrapeNKA View Post
The design of the Fluval ramp timer is garbage, but I'm using one with my Aquasky lights anyway. My menu button and down button work (the up button 'worked' for about two presses), so if you don't mind scrolling forever it's not terribly difficult to set and works very well afterwards.

The Current USA ramp timers should work with them as well, and they seem to get much better reviews! I would have gone with one originally, but I wanted to get a timer set up before leaving on a vacation and the LFS only stocks the Fluval ramp timer and basic on-or-off models.
So would you reccomend the fluval one?
__________________
Mark_the_shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 02:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by flchamp89 View Post
You can tape up some leds to. If you at least run it while at work it will be better than 24/7
I leave it on overnight now and turn it off before work.
__________________
Mark_the_shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 02:45 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autumnsky View Post
You could cut a strip or 2 and whip stitch / sew it together with heavy duty fishing line or coat utility grade thread to cage it. Or tape!
Ahh I see. That sounds interesting.
__________________
Mark_the_shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 05:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
skrapeNKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 210
I'd probably recommend the Current USA ramp timer, though I don't have one in my hands currently (one is on order for the wife's tank).

My point was mostly that if you do go with the Fluval Ramp Timer against all better judgement and reviews (like I did ), it will work, it's probably just going to raise your blood pressure a few points whenever you need to set it. Try to be gentle, and hope it's the down and menu button that function if one has to fail. I might be wrong, but I don't think you'd be able to actually set anything other than 'sunrise' on 'output 1' if you get stuck with one that only has a functioning UP and menu button.
__________________
skrapeNKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 05:49 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by skrapeNKA View Post
I'd probably recommend the Current USA ramp timer, though I don't have one in my hands currently (one is on order for the wife's tank).

My point was mostly that if you do go with the Fluval Ramp Timer against all better judgement and reviews (like I did ), it will work, it's probably just going to raise your blood pressure a few points whenever you need to set it. Try to be gentle, and hope it's the down and menu button that function if one has to fail. I might be wrong, but I don't think you'd be able to actually set anything other than 'sunrise' on 'output 1' if you get stuck with one that only has a functioning UP and menu button.
After you set it do you neet to play with the settings later? I basically just need a timer to turn it off at night or once in the morning.
__________________
Mark_the_shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 06:09 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
skrapeNKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 210
It's good to go once you set it unless your power goes out. Though I'd certainly steer you towards the Current USA models unless it's a situation like mine where you need one now and it's available at a local store.
__________________
skrapeNKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 07:01 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by skrapeNKA View Post
It's good to go once you set it unless your power goes out. Though I'd certainly steer you towards the Current USA models unless it's a situation like mine where you need one now and it's available at a local store.
Would you happen to have an amazon link? I might buy one of those usa models.
__________________
Mark_the_shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval AquaSky LED? Prediscus23 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 09-19-2016 07:04 PM
Fluval Aquasky???? EthanBeltramo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 02-01-2016 02:10 PM
Fluval CO2 20 System - Replacement Canisters(Non-Fluval) gre General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 07-31-2012 11:06 PM
Is the Fluval surface skimmer compatible with the larger Fluval FX5? Togliat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-02-2011 12:52 AM
Fluval ClearMax Insert For Fluval 205 Oscarr19 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-11-2011 03:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.