Fluval fx6 for 65gal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Irishrover

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all. I am pretty new at the hobby and have a question I’m hoping you guys can help me with. My wife bought a 65 gallon tank from Petsmart the other day. While there we noticed they had a Fluval FX6 on sale so we jumped on it. Well I see this is for a MUCH bigger tank so I know it’s overkill. My question is would it hurt to use this filter for this tank? We are undecided what type of fish we want to get. Either African cichlids or discus we are thinking. Thank you in advance for any advice you can give. Like I said, I am relatively new at the hobby.

Attachments

• A9FF7762-CEE2-4D87-92AF-8CBA47B33709.jpeg
    A9FF7762-CEE2-4D87-92AF-8CBA47B33709.jpeg
    81.3 KB · Views: 61
The FX6 is overkill for your tank. However the flow rate is adjustable so you can turn this down if you want to still use it.

Im looking at your photo. Does the fx6 fit inside your cabinet?

Edit:

Found this, ive not watched it but it may be useful.

Very good question. And I should have added that in my original post. No it does not. The cabinet is about 18 inches high and I believe the FX6 is like 20” so that is also a problem.

The FX6 has variable speed? I'll have to check mine...I seen no way to regulate speed on mine...

Very good question. And I should have added that in my original post. No it does not. The cabinet is about 18 inches high and I believe the FX6 is like 20” so that is also a problem.
I think this makes your decision for you. I was going to suggest a fluval 407, but that is too tall as well. 2 x 307s might fit just, but the valves and pipework probably take it over the 18" you have. I honestly think your cabinet precludes most canisters that would be big enough for 65 gallons. I think an FX4 is short and fat, that might work.