Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-01-2011, 06:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
freshwater sump

Im new to having a sump on a freshwater tank so if anybody could give me some info on what I should put in a 20 gal sump for a 55 gal tank it would be a big help.

__________________
johnnyboy1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 06:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,537
Some sort of filter pad, and bio balls
__________________
Fishkeeper26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 07:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,537
You can also put all your equipment on it, except CO2 if your dosing it
__________________
Fishkeeper26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 08:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Well I know the basics I have bio balls and filter pads and know to put my heater in it I jusg kinda want to know if there is any sump design better than the other or if there is more things I can put in it to keep the water cleaner
__________________
johnnyboy1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 09:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,537
Most people don't recommend carbon because it removes trace elements. Pilyfill works as a good water polisher
__________________
Fishkeeper26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 10:45 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I wouldn't waste my time or any money on a freshwater sump. A canister is a much better option.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 07:16 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,296
In your opinion. If the tank is a reef ready tank it is certainly easier just to use a sump than to plug the holes and go with a canister. If the option is a hang on overflow I'd scrap it and go with a canister for sure.

Not sure why you think a sump is a waste of money on a FW tank. It's a big customizable filter with tons of room for bio media and mechanical media IMO, not to mention the added water volume, however slight, is never a bad thing.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:36 AM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Canisters offer the same thing but are easier to setup, especially for people not used to dealing with them. They are also more effective. I have used multiple types of sumps and canisters and I definitely would choose a good canister over a sump any day.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:55 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,296
More effective is an opinion. I have also used multiple types of sumps and canisters.

Moved to General Hardware/Equipment Discussion.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 09:17 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Obviously it varies on setup, previous experience, etc. But I have never used a sump that I would prefer over a Fluval FX5.

There may be more room for media, but the media isn't used as effectively. Sumps can be inefficient mechanical filters. As soon as the media is clogged at all the water will take the path of least resistance and simply go around the mechanical media. In a canister this is not an option. As the media collects more debris there is no path of lesser resistance and the water keeps going through the media and keeps getting cleaned. You only need so much biomedia. If the tank only requires one liter of submerged biomedia it is of no benefit to have a sump with the ability to hold ten liters.

I know many people use and prefer sumps over canisters, but IME a canister is a more effective, easier to setup and maintain, and usually cheaper option. All I want to do is make sure that people at least look into canisters when deciding on filtration.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 04:04 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
You dont use slumps for freshwater
__________________
Suckerfishrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 04:10 PM   #12
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suckerfishrule View Post
You dont use slumps for freshwater
Well thats a extremely helpful post...do you want to add anything else or are you sticking with that response?

I use AquaPro sumps on all three of my 150g and larger RR tanks, the benefits certainly outweigh the negatives. Giving a larger water volume, a place to hide equipment, a huge variety of media options, and the maintaining the display tanks water level is great. The only negative IMO is like Fishguy2727 states the mechanical filtration is somewhat lacking depending on specific sump design which is why I also run Fluval FX/5's on each one as well.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
You only use them for saltwater tanks
__________________
Suckerfishrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:13 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hippy guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lexvegas Kentucky
Posts: 1,250
Iduno you can use a sump for freshwater.. you could even stuff it with anacris and such to suck up ammo, and keep your display tank filter and clutter free...
__________________
Bada Bing, Bada Betta
hippy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:27 PM   #15
member

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 42.2411N/88.3161W
Posts: 6,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suckerfishrule View Post
You only use them for saltwater tanks
Wrong again, there are alot of aquarist including myself that use sumps in freshwater tanks.
__________________
HUKIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:48 PM   #16
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Although you can argue it's not the best form of filtration, they are indeed used successfully in MANY freshwater tanks.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freshwater, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump design, please help Paulm87 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 07-29-2011 06:40 PM
Sump pump size donh DIY Projects 7 07-21-2011 02:00 PM
fresh water sump user404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-18-2011 03:23 PM
Ideas for freshwater sump. Frivolous? Aquatic_Adam Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-14-2011 08:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.