freshwater sump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

johnnyboy1219

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Im new to having a sump on a freshwater tank so if anybody could give me some info on what I should put in a 20 gal sump for a 55 gal tank it would be a big help.

Well I know the basics I have bio balls and filter pads and know to put my heater in it I jusg kinda want to know if there is any sump design better than the other or if there is more things I can put in it to keep the water cleaner

Most people don't recommend carbon because it removes trace elements. Pilyfill works as a good water polisher

I wouldn't waste my time or any money on a freshwater sump. A canister is a much better option.

In your opinion. If the tank is a reef ready tank it is certainly easier just to use a sump than to plug the holes and go with a canister. If the option is a hang on overflow I'd scrap it and go with a canister for sure.

Not sure why you think a sump is a waste of money on a FW tank. It's a big customizable filter with tons of room for bio media and mechanical media IMO, not to mention the added water volume, however slight, is never a bad thing.

Canisters offer the same thing but are easier to setup, especially for people not used to dealing with them. They are also more effective. I have used multiple types of sumps and canisters and I definitely would choose a good canister over a sump any day.

More effective is an opinion. I have also used multiple types of sumps and canisters.

Moved to General Hardware/Equipment Discussion.

Obviously it varies on setup, previous experience, etc. But I have never used a sump that I would prefer over a Fluval FX5.