Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-09-2020, 04:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 30
FX6 leaking on power outage

Is it common for FX6 to leak on a power outage?

If not Im guessing seals some where, so which ones should I replace?
__________________

__________________
Brettyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 06:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
I'm not familiar with the fx6, but I have 13 canister filters, and some of them will leak a little when the power is off. We have to shut the valves off to keep it from continuing to siphon water from the tank and over flowing the canister. Some have good enough seals they'll hold the water in as the pressure increases. Some won't.
__________________

__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 07:34 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 421
No it is not normal for a canister to leak on a power outage. You will have to check and find out exactly where the water is coming out. Just unplug it and watch. You could put paper towels near all the areas to find where the leak is.
__________________
fishwonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 07:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
I personally would say it's not supposed to leak. Not designed to leak. Or not correct for it to leak. But seeing as how the internet is full of ppl saying their canister filters leak during power outages, I'd not say it's abnormal. It's a sign that something is wrong. But it happens quite often to lots of folks and lots of different brands of filters
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 11:57 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Overfilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Illinois
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brettyd View Post
Is it common for FX6 to leak on a power outage?

If not Im guessing seals some where, so which ones should I replace?
The replacement seals for the FX6 all come in a single SKU, so all you have to do is decide which ones you want to install. The fact that it leaks on a power outage implies that the seal for the pump MIGHT fix your problem. I replaced all of them at once preventively and my FX6 STARTED to leak from the drain valve and pump area's.

Which version of the FX6 do you have and have you contacted Fluval support?
__________________
Mr. Overfilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 12:08 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Overfilter View Post
The replacement seals for the FX6 all come in a single SKU, so all you have to do is decide which ones you want to install. The fact that it leaks on a power outage implies that the seal for the pump MIGHT fix your problem. I replaced all of them at once preventively and my FX6 STARTED to leak from the drain valve and pump area's.



Which version of the FX6 do you have and have you contacted Fluval support?
I think the drain valve is a common problem for leaks
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 12:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Overfilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Illinois
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliebankston View Post
I think the drain valve is a common problem for leaks
Specifically with the FX6 or in general? I've had engineering problems with the 3 Fluval filters I've owned, which makes me feel stupid.
__________________
Mr. Overfilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 12:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Overfilter View Post
Specifically with the FX6 or in general? I've had engineering problems with the 3 Fluval filters I've owned, which makes me feel stupid.
I don't own a fx. I have an old 406 which works great. I've just read about ppl online complaining about the fx models leaking at the drain. I should have clarified i don't have any personal experience with one tho
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 01:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Overfilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Illinois
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliebankston View Post
I don't own a fx. I have an old 406 which works great. I've just read about ppl online complaining about the fx models leaking at the drain. I should have clarified i don't have any personal experience with one tho
I trust your assessment of what you've read, Charlie. I have an old 406 inline too. It makes noises like an old car. I've checked it's impeller and it seems fine plus has solid throughput still.

My new approach is going to be based on research into what the Germans, European's and Asian's in general use, since many of them seem to take their tanks and accessories VERY seriously.

I'm watching my new Oase 600 (replaced an FX6) in hopes that I can depend on them at some point.
__________________
Mr. Overfilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 01:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
I've read good things about them. I have 3 different brands, all work well, the eheim classics that I have are frustrating at times because if moved a little the intake hose is prone to start leaking
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 01:29 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Overfilter View Post
I trust your assessment of what you've read, Charlie. I have an old 406 inline too. It makes noises like an old car. I've checked it's impeller and it seems fine plus has solid throughput still.



My new approach is going to be based on research into what the Germans, European's and Asian's in general use, since many of them seem to take their tanks and accessories VERY seriously.



I'm watching my new Oase 600 (replaced an FX6) in hopes that I can depend on them at some point.
After the first of the year I'm going to attempt to build a canister diy from a 5 gallon bucket and in line pump. It'll go on a 150g acrylic i recently bought that has an overflow box at the end. I'll post if it works successfully or not, lol
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 05:26 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Overfilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Illinois
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliebankston View Post
After the first of the year I'm going to attempt to build a canister diy from a 5 gallon bucket and in line pump. It'll go on a 150g acrylic i recently bought that has an overflow box at the end. I'll post if it works successfully or not, lol
While I suck at DIY, I wish you luck and look forward to your results. You mention your new 150g with an overflow. Would you mind posting a pic?

Qapla, brother!
__________________
Mr. Overfilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 05:55 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
I will. It's empty now, in the process of cleaning it up. It was pretty neglected. I bought it on Craigslist for $200, lol
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 06:01 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
It had a 30g sump that was cracked and leaking, so I cut it apart and made lids out of the acrylic side panels. I'll build a stand and canopy for it after Christmas Click image for larger version

Name:	JPEG_20201109_155849_8377964438104714656.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	135.9 KB
ID:	318575Click image for larger version

Name:	JPEG_20201109_155913_840495486832957603.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	153.0 KB
ID:	318576Click image for larger version

Name:	JPEG_20201109_155937_256309680224198946.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	114.5 KB
ID:	318577
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 07:46 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Overfilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Illinois
Posts: 212
Great price for that sort of capacity. If I may ask, what sorts of tools are you using to prep that baby, Charlie? I'm looking for a 75g acrylic tall. I'm going to check ebay, which looks to be a smart approach.
__________________
Mr. Overfilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 08:22 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
I read then used a magic eraser and a plastic putty knife. I haven't addressed the scratches on the back, it was prob marine at one time. I don't know if I'll bother tbh
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 09:41 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mr. Overfilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Illinois
Posts: 212
I admire the DIY expertise this will accrue. You mentioned that you've extracted the overflow? Are you going to reseal the tank seams or will that not be needed? I was expecting that you'd be using tons of power tools and high-tech fluids!
__________________
Mr. Overfilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 09:53 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
No, sorry, I may have not been clear, I'm gonna try to use the overflow to the big bucket filter, then use the existing pipe back in for outlet. I saw and read where ppl have done it. Pipe in the top of the bucket lid from overflow, then thru the media, to an outflow pipe on the bottom side of the bucket, thru the pump and back in thru the inlet pipe of the overflow. One hole will have to capped off inside the overflow box. It'll work (in theory) similar to an fx6
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2020, 09:54 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,291
I'll drill extra holes at the bottom of the overflow box for water to come in above the gravel line
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 12:17 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 15,149
Check the toggle screws on the top, could be one is a bit more loose than the others.
__________________

__________________
FW & SW
Favorite tank right now - 12G Edge nano fish

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
age, leak, leaking, power outage

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POWER BACK UP DURING POWER OUTAGE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-13-2004 05:52 PM
Power Outage bada Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 01-08-2004 04:02 AM
Power outage! jratuszn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-23-2003 06:33 PM
Power outage question? newcomer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 08-20-2003 03:44 PM
My power outage story (get realy its long) bettacove Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-20-2003 11:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.