Good Filters?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dreaming-Eternity

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey there, AA. I'm a newbie FWT owner, and I'm interested in getting a filter for my 100G tank. Are there certain brands or strengths (gph) filters that I should look into, and how many should I get?

I think a powerhead would do okay for you, is the tank a rectangle?
An Marineland Emperor 400 should be all you need.
Mechanical and biological filtration. Some people use the sump or canister filter, but I don;t know that advantage of those. I assume they are useful for tanks with >100 gals.

I've had extremely bad luck with marineland filters... I would really suggest a canister for a tank that size. I have two canisters on my 150g. I really like the fluval filters. A couple 305's or a 305 and 405 would work great on there, or you could always put an FX5 on there. I only have experience with fluvals and eheims, and I would suggest the fluval hands down over the eheim. A lot of people have really good luck with rena xp filters as well. IMO, its best to stick with two filters rated for the tank size, as you have a backup in case one fails (and they're never rated realistically).

in the bigger aquariums i use canisters i personally prefer the rena xp or the c series canisters.

What do you mean by extremely bad luck? Ive had no problems with my penguins and emperors, there the best I've ever had. But, for a 100g I'd use a canister, I'd suggest a marineland canister, there high quality, and provide superior biological filtration compared to "bioballs". I'd suggest an emporer though, as canisters are expensive, and they really don't have many benefits over HOBs