Help in Wet/Dry filtration please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PSG3300

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am very new to saltwater, this will be my first tank.. Ive come to the conclusion that A Wet/Dry will be best to filter my 55 gallon tank. Im aware that I need a pump that preforms at 700 gallons per hour but was wondering if i need anything else. I see all these bigger tanks with PVC piping and dont know if that applies to what I am getting?? Besides buying a Wet/Dry sump and a Pump what else would I need as far as the Wet/Dry filtration system goes?

Also!... Im looking to buy the whole set up used.. what should i look for as far as cautions and how long do these last, Thank you!!

your pump choice will depend on how high the water has to go, not only GPH.

you will need an overflow if you are not pre-drilled.

look for cracks in acrylic and glass alike. wet/dry's can/will last forever, the pump on the other hand can be a minute to a lifetime.

I am assuming your 55 does NOT have holes drilled in the bottom pane of glass, correct? if it doesnt you will need the overflow box, if you have holes this is where the PVC you talk about is located. Ill take some pics tomorrow but I have two wet/dry's set up on freshwater tanks. One is drilled the other required an overflow box.

thank you for replying and is an overflow box something I buy or what does it look like.. Most people I've talked to about buying the sump have no idea about any info on it.. And I was told not to buy a used pump correct? The tank will be about 4 feet from the sump

depends on the pump, if its an external or a mag-drive they can be repaired, if not then shy away unless you know you can get parts for it.

4' away as in below or above?

the overflow box is something youd have to purchase
I have the CPR CS100
CPR Overflow Boxes