Help with watertight fitting for "submerged" wire

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

juneappal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Greetings everyone. I have a question that isn't exactly about aquariums, but I have hit a lot of dead ends in tying to find an answer, and it seems like aquarium lovers might be able to tell me what direction I should explore next.

I am a grad student, conducting research on the effects of wave action on sandy/clayey bottom surfaces. I have a large acrylic (1" thick) wave tank. It is sealed on top and during operation it is at about 6-7 psi inside.

I need to get a few instruments into the water column to measure water speed and sediment density. The instrument have cables roughly 1/2" o.d.

I am looking for some sort of fitting that will allow me to pass a 1/2" cable into the tank, then tighten around it to provide a watertight seal against 6 psi. I need to be able to remove the instruments, since I am sharing them with another research project, so I can't just epoxy them into a hole.

Functionally, this is the same problem as temporarily passing a heavy gauge extension cord into the bottom of a 12-foot deep aquarium. Has anyone here ever attempted doing so without entering through the water surface?

I greatly appreciate any help/suggestions you can give. I am sorry my query isn't quite aquarium-focused, but I can't think of anyone else who would have any experience with this sort of enterprise. I have tried Acrylics fabricators, hydraulic equipment vendors, plumbers and electricians with no luck.

I did a quick search for watertight electrical connectors and from this site
Watertight Subsea / Underwater Electrical Connectors
came up with this type of connecter:

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]
LSG4BCL_thumb.jpg
[/FONT]​

I think your best bet would be a bulkhead connection something like this.