How do you use a test kit? Are they like pH strips used in chemistry lab?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Temp

Aquarium Advice Regular
Looking at a lot of these threads, I have no knowledge about test kits.

1. How do you determine water parameters with a test kit? Comparing them to a graph, or seeing how many grain particles left in a small measuring cup?

2. Do we need to buy a lot of these test kits? Where is a video that teaches how to use them? Google isn't helping. Our local aquarium store is filled with Chinese aquarium test kits, and I don't know how to read them, so I didn't buy any.

3. Expiration Date. Expiring Test Kits. Are they still correct, even after expiring? Are they "not" suppose to expire, like the pH strips in chemistry labs? Or I'm mistaking something I didn't know along the way?

Thanks in advance. :)

1. it depends on the test kit. usually it's a measured powder or liquid added to aquarium water and either held against a color chart, or counting drops until a color change happens.

2. if you want to keep your tank healthy and it be the best environment possible for the life that you are keeping, you need to buy a hand full of kits.
there are companies like "aquarium pharmaceuticals inc (API), that sell complete kits for salt and fresh water i believe, but in my opinion and experience, they aren't the most accurate kits on the market.
they will give you an idea though, for a relatively affordable price.

for your fresh tanks, i think all you would need is ammonia, nitrite and ph.

i don't know of any videos that teach you to use them, but the instructions that come with the kits are pretty easy to understand.

3. yes, i'm told expired kits are to be thrown away.