How much does it cost to run your tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kribbman

Aquarium Advice Activist
ITT.

How much dose it cost to run your tank every month?

Between Electricity, Food, Filter Media and and any other expenses your tank requires.

My tank has a 100W heater. a 19W flourecent bulb thats on from 7am to 10 pm, a 6.5 W CO2 diffusor and a HOB filter which I assume is also about 6.5W. So im guessing that at any given time My aquarium is using about 130W to run. Im no electrical engineer and I have no Idea how much a KW/Hour cost here. so Ill owe you that number. If anybody can help me answer this I would appreciate it very much.

Food. I spend about $4.00 a month on frozen bloodworms and about $5 every two months on flake food. So food works out to about $6.50 a month

Filter Media. I have a Penguin 150 with a biowheel Im using 2 filter cartidges at a time but change one of them every two weeks . I end up buying a 3 pack every month and they cost about $8.

CO2 Media. I first started out using the RED SEA CO2 refill packs which were $8.00 each but then I swithced to buying Yeast and Sugar at the super market for about $8.00 for a 2 pounds of white sugar, Yeast, and baking soda which I dont think Ill have to buy more any time soon. but just to have an estimate I think the current supply I have could last me at the very least 4 months If I change the media every 2 weeks. That works out to about $2.00 a month.

So it breaks down into: Food $6.50
Filter Media $8.00
CO2 Media $2.00
Electricity *$4.00

About $ 20 bucks is my estimate (thats if im not to far off in the estimate I made for the electricity) Im pretty sure its worth it. By the way my tank is a FW 20 gal.
$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$