I love my new Aquaclear 110! Media basket loading Question?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

YuccaPatrol

Aquarium Advice Activist
What an incredible filter!

I've been using Emperor filters for the past 2 years because I fell in love with the biowheel, but the romance has faded after the realization of how expensive the filter cartridges are. I clean and re-use the cartridges, remove the carbon, and fill the media baskets with a porous rock bio media, but I still have to replace the cartridges every few months.

Today, after numerous recommendations from others here, I bought my first Aquaclear. On top of the foam filter, I added about an inch of poyester filter floss, then I filled the biological media bag with the included ceramic tubes as well as about 50% more of the same rock bio media I have been using. I am impressed that I have been able to absoutely pack that filter with so much more good media than the emperor 400 could ever hold!

Does that sound like a good plan for my media basket?

I'll set the carbon insert aside for some future emergency when I need it, but that is unlikley.

So now my 75 gallon has 1 Emperor 400, 1 Emperor 280, and the new Aquaclear 110. My oscar will be very happy with it I am sure!

I moved the extra Emperor 400 over to my 29 gallon and have now retired an old Regent 300 that came with the second-hand 29 gallon setup.

Yay for my fish!

Doesn't your 75 look ridiculous with three different HOBs on it? The 110 in the name is not just a catchy number, its how many gallons a tank it can handle.

It doesn't look ridiculous. . . . it just looks very clean! :D

I know I may be suffering from an obsessive desire to keep my water as clean as possible, but my fish love the clean water.