Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2013, 11:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
ideas, ideas, ideas........

Well, I've wanted to get a 55 gallon for a while now, and I think I'll finally be able to get one. I've found one on craigslist, 100 for everything.it comes with a hob filter which I'll use until I can afford what I want to do in the long run.

What I want to do eventually is a sump, with the overflow of the aquarium going down a 4" pvc pipe with mechanical filtration (filter floss) and under that sine cheap biological filtration because why waste the space. Once it gets to my sump I'm making a fluidized bed filter with k1 kaldnes. I'm probably going to use a 20 high or 20 long. If I can find one though, I'd rather use a 29/30. The most expensive is the k1 Kaldnes, about 70$ for 25 liters shipped. Also I need to find a decent enough, quiet air pump to fluidize the k1.

What am I missing? I'm wanting to order since manzanita driftwood and use pool filter sand for substrate.

Thanks for any input and advice

-1998golfer
__________________

__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 12:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
By the way, I'm planning on using a submersible pump for return, likely 500gph because of head. I'll drill the tank with a 1 3/4 bit from glass-holes.com which accommodates a 1 inch bulkhead. I'm nit exactly sure about where yet or what piping I'll use. I'll make something in Autodesk or sketchup and upload it when it's done.

Again, thanks.

-1998golfer
__________________

__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 12:52 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
So your using the overflow tube to house area dor BB to grow... interesting idea. I thought of something along those lines when I red you could pump water down over bioballs to create a froth that would skim 100% of the water going to the sump.

What type of media will be in your overflow tube?
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
I was thinking of using those pot scrubbers from the dollar store. I've heard they work really well and are 6 for a dollar
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1998golfer View Post
I was thinking of using those pot scrubbers from the dollar store. I've heard they work really well and are 6 for a dollar
Cutting them to fit or shoving them in? Careful there are no cleaning products or additives.
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:28 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Just shoving them in. I'll wash them before and remove any metal pieces holding it together
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 02:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1998golfer View Post
Just shoving them in. I'll wash them before and remove any metal pieces holding it together
Hmm I feel this could spell a clog. What woll be in place to prevent a debris build up and clog?

I have already decided to use this same idea but I will be using bio balls since debris will flow over them to be catched in my sump for easy removal.
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 02:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
You could try tying fishing line to the bottom pot scrubber and fishing it through the middle of the others one and leave enough slack up top for a loop or handle of sorts. It would make removal easier. Or leave the top pot scrubber untied so that you could rinse it frequently to prevent any buildup that could lead to a clog.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 03:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
I
Hmm I feel this could spell a clog. What woll be in place to prevent a debris build up and clog?

I have already decided to use this same idea but I will be using bio balls since debris will flow over them to be catched in my sump for easy removal.
Actually I forgot to mention I'm putting a filter sock over the pipe. Or maybe some filter floss.
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Do the filter sock/filter floss if replaced/cleaned weekly will prevent clogging right?
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1998golfer View Post
Do the filter sock/filter floss if replaced/cleaned weekly will prevent clogging right?
I would think that it would. What will be inside the tank. If anything large gets caught in there it could still clog.
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:49 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post

I would think that it would. What will be inside the tank. If anything large gets caught in there it could still clog.
Well I'd have something around the intake so big things can't get in.either a done block or a grid wrapped around above the intake
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:33 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Drilled or a hang on back overflow system?
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:41 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
Drilled or a hang on back overflow system?
Drilled.I've heard to many nightmares about hobs... I'm going to use a 1 3/4 inch bit with a 1" bulkhead. Our should I get a bigger one?
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
Depends on your return pipe. Good rule of thumb is to double your overflow pipe. 2 inches intake should have 4 inches overflow. Primary used for safty. Water coming in is being pumped and forced in water leaving is going at its own pace.
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:49 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
Depends on your return pipe. Good rule of thumb is to double your overflow pipe. 2 inches intake should have 4 inches overflow. Primary used for safty. Water coming in is being pumped and forced in water leaving is going at its own pace.
It's really only a 55 gallon, so it doesn't need a while lot of flow. IIRC a 1" could handle about 600gph. My return will probably about 300-400 after head. Submersible fountain pump.
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:52 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rockford IL
Posts: 286
What size sump
__________________
Brad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 09:56 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad M View Post
What size sump
I am going to aim for a 20 or a 29/30. Fluidized bed with 25l of k1 kaldnes. Absolute overkill, apparently on average you only need 4 or 5 liters of k1 for a 55, but 25 liters is about the same price as buying 10 liters since they don't sell 10 liter bags, only 1, 25, and 50 so 10 1 liter bags is the same price as 1 25 liter bag.
__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 07:55 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Too much biomedia is not a bad thing. Though it won't grow more BB (which is dictated by the amount of nutrients available) it has the potential to do so. I like the idea of fluidized; from what I understand, that particular media is self cleaning when placed in constant motion.

Yes, it would be a good idea to keep the filter sock clean with regular rinsing.

Since you are drilling the tank, you might consider a second drain hole. If for some reason the primary drain gets obstructed, the secondary drain will handle the flow.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 08:49 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
Too much biomedia is not a bad thing. Though it won't grow more BB (which is dictated by the amount of nutrients available) it has the potential to do so. I like the idea of fluidized; from what I understand, that particular media is self cleaning when placed in constant motion.

Yes, it would be a good idea to keep the filter sock clean with regular rinsing.

Since you are drilling the tank, you might consider a second drain hole. If for some reason the primary drain gets obstructed, the secondary drain will handle the flow.
Yes I know that more biomedia is better that's why I'm loading this thing.would a filter sock or filter floss be better? Filter floss is way cheaper.
I didn't think about a second drain hole. I guess it wouldn't be that hard since the drill bit will drill 2-3 holes. All I'd have to do I'd buy a second bulkhead and hook it up. If I go with 2 should I go with the 1" bulkheads?
__________________

__________________
1998golfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.