Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-26-2016, 05:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
In case of an emergency: power outage?

What is it called where when the power goes out, the machine kicks in? Is there such a thing? I'm wondering if there's something to plug everything into the machine and that machine is plugged into the wall outlet so it can detect power outtage. So when I'm not at home, and the power goes out, everything that's hooked up to that outlet strip to the machine still gets electricity because that machine will now kick in because it detected that the power is out.

So a generator that is for indoor use, but it turns on automatically. I typed in backup generator and standby generator but it's like 5+ grand and it's to be permanently set up outdoor and powers the house in a blackout so that's not what I'm looking for. There must be a name for what I'm looking for that I can't think of. I just need a small basic portable one that powers a shop light, water filter, and heater/fan. At least the filter and heater or fan, the fish can survive without light.

I feel like I'm going to be made fun of for this post. I honestly don't know anything about this and hopefully be responded by nice helpful people.

Where I live, it can get 90+ and below 0 degree and the power goes out about half a dozen to a dozen times a year. It usually lasts a couple of hours which the fish would be fine but I'm worried one day it'll last longer than a day, maybe during a snowstorm. This past month the power have went out twice. One during a heavy thunderstorm and this past week due to the extreme heat.

I just realized I live in mother nature wrath zone of all elements. Hah.
__________________

__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 06:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Leeatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 322
Maybe a backup power supply like for computers . Would still be pricey , but worth a shot .
__________________

__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 06:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 195
Hey, we have the same situation with the 55 gallon tank! I'm about to start mine up as well, once I get a stand.
Anyway, is this machine waterproof? Let's just call it a generator from now on.
__________________
JonoDatInvento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 06:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 195
I have one of these for my router, modem, telephone etc. It plugs into an outlet and has a built in battery. The issue is it isn't waterproof so you can't just put it by your fish tank...
__________________
JonoDatInvento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 06:56 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,932
There are a couple of ways. Some make their own battery backup while others buy them.
There are also generators that have kept systems afloat for long periods of time.
You can also use battery powered pumps until the power comes back on. They are used for minnows. This is the bare minimum you need to keep a system going until then.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 07:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonoDatInvento View Post
I have one of these for my router, modem, telephone etc. It plugs into an outlet and has a built in battery. The issue is it isn't waterproof so you can't just put it by your fish tank...
What is what yours called? Sounds like what I'm looking for. Link to buy page?

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 07:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonoDatInvento View Post
Let's just call it a generator from now on.
When I google or amazon search generator, it shows gas generated ones that are used outside or ones where you have to set it up. So that's why I'm asking if there's a more specific name for what I'm looking for to make searching for the one that stays plugged in and comes on automatically when power is out.



Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 07:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
Maybe a backup power supply like for computers . Would still be pricey , but worth a shot .
Yeah! That's what I'm looking for and was trying to describe poorly. I'll look into that!

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 08:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 195
Yeah, I have one of those. Here it is:
It's the black thing under the table.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1469577371751.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	176.2 KB
ID:	288246  
__________________
JonoDatInvento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 09:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 195
The model is:
APC Back-UPS XS 1000

We got it a while ago so it could be dated. But I'll look up specs for you. But, the amount of outlets on the back are enough to bite. 😁

The next picture is how big it is. I'm 14, so my hand could be a bit small.
Measurements:
Front to Back: 15 inches
Width: 4 inches
Height: 10 inches

The last one is the back, where all the outlets are. They are labeled differently in different situations like the Master plugs or surge protection.

Hope this post was detailed enough. 😂

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1469577519837.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	159.8 KB
ID:	288247   Click image for larger version

Name:	1469577561697.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	146.6 KB
ID:	288248  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1469577635936.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	222.8 KB
ID:	288249  
__________________
JonoDatInvento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 01:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Carriwin's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 310
Send a message via Skype™ to Carriwin
They're called backup UPS (Universal Power Source). You can find decent ones online. I googled them and there are a range of prices. Be mindful that you want to make sure that whichever one you purchase can carry the wattage you're using for the desired length of time. (Geek had to reply. ) Also, some power strips automatically come with a UPS as well, to cover in the event the power goes out. Just food for thought.
__________________
-55 gallon FW, sand -55 gallon FW, planted fluorite -38 gallon black sand -10 gallon white sand nursery
-Carriwin's Tank Adventures
Carriwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 12:57 PM   #12
Macro Addict
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,808
I keep a small 2 horse generator handy just to run the tanks it pushes up to 700 watts perfect to keep all my pumps and lighting going .

I bought one of these a few years back best little investment I made , and it was less than a 100 bucks .

I tried one of those computer back ups but they are only good for a really short outage
I get about 14 hrs on a tank when under a full load ,
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 09:38 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by 54seaweed View Post
I keep a small 2 horse generator handy just to run the tanks it pushes up to 700 watts perfect to keep all my pumps and lighting going .

I bought one of these a few years back best little investment I made , and it was less than a 100 bucks .

I tried one of those computer back ups but they are only good for a really short outage
I get about 14 hrs on a tank when under a full load ,
Since it use gas, does it need to be set outdoor?

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 09:06 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
Since it use gas, does it need to be set outdoor?

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Yeah, most likely.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
JonoDatInvento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 11:30 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 134
A ups system is designed so you can save your work in the event of a power outage and shut the computer down. Also most of them use ni-cad cells which degrade over time without being charged and discharged. Lithium cells are getting much cheaper now days but they re still expensive in comparison. Ie 5$ a cell for refurbished 4v cells. The problem is going to be in finding a fairly priced Lipo or lithium ion ups system. A backup genie for the house may not be such a bad investment.

Sent from my LG-H343 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Ruutah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 01:49 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
UPS Uninterruptible power supply is what your looking for, usually for computers.
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 01:50 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruutah View Post
A ups system is designed so you can save your work in the event of a power outage and shut the computer down. Also most of them use ni-cad cells which degrade over time without being charged and discharged. Lithium cells are getting much cheaper now days but they re still expensive in comparison. Ie 5$ a cell for refurbished 4v cells. The problem is going to be in finding a fairly priced Lipo or lithium ion ups system. A backup genie for the house may not be such a bad investment.

Sent from my LG-H343 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Just get a bunch of 18650's
__________________
ScaryFatKidGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 09:07 PM   #18
Macro Addict
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
Since it use gas, does it need to be set outdoor?

Sent from my XT1049 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
yes it needs ventilation , you would run a extension cord , that generator will run 24 hrs on a 1g tank of gas.

looking at those computer backup batteries what do you do if your outage is longer than 4 hrs as that's what they are rated for .

I always depended on generators during power failures as I've encountered outages in my life time from 15 min to a month so I like to be prepared
I have been through back to back hurricanes that we lost power over a month back in the late 90's . my home was powered as everyone else wasn't I was able to keep the whole house powered on 3 generators , running ac fish tanks tv fridge ect
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
age, power outage

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
emergency question! Powering tank during power outage brunkdent Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 13 04-16-2012 09:44 AM
In case there is a power outtage... Breezyrae Nano Reefs 16 11-28-2011 12:16 PM
would like some information on what to use to back up my tank in case of power outage ustigerlily Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-15-2011 06:03 PM
update: emergency emergency clown loach is stuck in wood tropicfishman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-01-2006 12:49 PM
POWER BACK UP DURING POWER OUTAGE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-13-2004 05:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.