is a canister filter overkill for a 29g community tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yankeeslover

Aquarium Advice Activist
i have never used a canister filter before..not sure what the positives are with one.. right now i have a cheap topfin 30 on my bundle tank.. as i was saying on a previous thread i was looking at a AC70 or whisper EX70 for a small 29 gallon community... now i also see a cheap aquatop cf-300 canister filter for only alittle more...how are these filters? what do i gain from a canister filter? I do not use my own media, i only use what i buy in store as i dont have time or means to make my own.... is a canister filter overkill? do they take up alot of room? i have a fish stand cabinet style, does it go on my floor or can i put it in the cabinet right underneat the tank and close the doors? im sorry, so new to filters