Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-26-2009, 07:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
Is my RO/DI filter shot?

I made a batch of fresh water this morning to get ready for a PWC for my 29g bio-cube tomorrow. I tested the water with my hand held TDS meter and it blinked 999, meaning there was a bunch of crap in the water. I tested the water out of the tap and it read 147. I then took a small sample of the water directly from the RO/DI unit and it read 18. Could the container that I'm using be leaching chemicals into the water? there's a brown slime in the container also. I have no idea what it is though. The container is in the basement with no top. Would water in the RO/Di unit go bad if it isn't flowing through the unit? The DI unit looks good, i.e it isn't completely depleted. it's only changed color about 1-2 inches from the bottom. Could the "brown slime" be DI resin? Is Di resin friable? What gives? I'll buy some ready made water tomorrow after work for the PWC.
__________________

__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 07:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
buddha_red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pasadena Texas 77504
Posts: 560
Send a message via ICQ to buddha_red
if your not testing zero its time to change the filters.
__________________

__________________
Shane
"Only mistakes happen fast in aquariums"
"The solution to pollution is dulution"
buddha_red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 08:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
that really really sucks big time! I've only had it for several months. I'll change out the filters but I think I should've gotten more use out of them. Any idea what the "brown slime" could be?
__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 08:41 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Are you treating the RO/DI with a de-chlor?
Do you have water movement in the mixing bucket?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 10:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
Roka64
I have a carbon filter in the RO/DI unit. I'm not using any additives after the water is made. For water movement in the 35g plastic bin I'm using a moded maxi-jet 1200 with the Ecodrive unit. I retested my RO water again. I got a 0 reading using a clean cup(plastic) and high 600's if I took the water out of the tub. For some reason the brown slime is causing my TDS meter to go high(i don't know what the slime is)or the plastic bin is leaching chemicals into the water. Either way I ordered new resin, an in-line TDS meter, and I'm getting a food safe bin for the next PWC.
__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 11:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Make a small batch of RO/DI water into a clean container and retest with a TDS meter.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 11:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Do you let your filter chambers go dry between use? I read that is not good for the filter media.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 11:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
No. My filter media is always submerged. I would like to know something, I have an ASOV installed in the tub. When it shuts the water going into the tub should it also shut the drain water?
__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:29 PM   #9
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Is it a special ASOV? Most of them (I thought) were really only useful if you were filling into a sealed tank. The engineering being that when the line pressure gets close to the tank pressure it shuts off.

Not sure on the water shutoff. I don't run mine into a holding tank.

Have you back flushed recently?
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
I meant the ASOV is on my RO unit, sorry for any confusion. I have a float valve in the tub but when the float valve shuts the water going into the tub water continues to come out of the drain. I haven't back flushed it. should i?
__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 01:56 PM   #11
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
I mean the one on your unit too...

If you haven't in a while.. it certainly couldn't hurt but it sounds like your issue is with your container and/or keeping it clean.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 03:12 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Try calling Autoshutoff.com or Bulkreefsupply and ask them about the ASOV and how it works.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 03:27 PM   #13
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
  • How the Automatic Shut-Off Valve Works:
  • The valve automatically shuts off production when the tank pressure reaches approximately 65% of the incoming line pressure to indicate the tank is full.
  • The ASO valve saves thousands of gallons of water. Reverse Osmosis Systems without an Automatic Shut-Off valve continually send rinse water to the drain even when the tank is full.
  • Automatic Shut-Off Valve Example Process:
  • Feed water goes through a set of three pre filters (Sediment filter, Carbon filter, Carbon filter), passes through the ASOV, and then goes to the RO membrane to produce RO water.
  • The RO water passes through the system to be stored in the water tank. When the tank fills with RO water and the tank pressure reaches 40 psi, the back pressure will reverse the ASOV diaphragm and will shut off due to the pressure differential.
  • When the RO water end pressure is greater than the Feed water pressure, it causes the piston to move downward and shut off the in and out channel.
  • When the ASOV In and Out channel shuts off, the system will not produce any RO water.
So, if you're not using it w/ a closed tank it's basically useless as there is no back pressure. I applaud you for wanting to know how your unit works, seems many have them and have not a clue
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 03:49 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
So my ASOV is useless unless i get a sealed tank. great. thx cpt
__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 03:57 PM   #15
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
reconfigure your float to attach to the inlet side... when the float trips the source water is cut off.....
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 09:26 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 192
I read on RC what the brown slime was. I was using IO and RC at the time and it was the vitamins in the salt. there is a long thread about it there. I'm using TM pro now and no more problems. thanks for your help
__________________

__________________
jcmelski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Shot movinweight Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 7 07-28-2006 10:59 AM
Tank shot rich311k Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 03-23-2006 04:37 PM
I need to get this idea shot down Japola44 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 01-17-2006 04:07 AM
anbody think i got a shot? mr funktastic Show Off/Photography 3 09-06-2005 10:54 PM
New shot of Convicts spence0416 Show Off/Photography 2 02-13-2004 12:27 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.