Jebo 180 Skimmer...Need help adjusting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bassetbros

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Let me start by saying that I have no previous experience with skimmers!!

Bought and set up my new skimmer today and need a little advice from the experts. I think I might be "skimming" a little more than I'm supposed to because I'm having to empty the collection cup about twice an hour with the air adjustment valve removed (the maximum amount of air is entering skimmer). I limit the air water mixture and the cup fills up even faster.

The solution in the collection cup looks identical to my aquarium water...not the foamy stuff you would expect.

The manual states the water level should be even with the base of the collection cup for optimum efficiency. The water level with max air flow is right at the top of the entrance from the contact chamber into the cup. I'm a little leary of raising the cup up a bit from it's seat...I think it would probably cause leaks, floods, plagues, electrocution, etc.

My tank has been up and running for about a month with only a couple of small clowns if that helps any.

Any ideas?

Thanks and God Bless,
Basset

Heh, mine just arrived in the mail today. :)

Basically, have the adjustment screwed almost all the way on. The bubbles should only come up to about the middle of the upside down V-nozzle in the collection cup. Since its brand new I'm not expecting it to skim much but after about four hours of running I had dark-tea water collecting (about half a centimeter, we'll see how much it collect over-night).

I had microbubbles for about two hours but it wasn't as bad as say a regular Prism skimmer. This thing was a breeze to setup. Bubbles went away after about two hours.