Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2011, 11:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
LED help

I bought a marineland LED lights and now the lights stopped working except the moonlights. Any idea

__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 09:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Sounds like a defective fixture. I'd return it if it's still under warranty.
__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:02 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
I wanna try and fix it myself I just have no idea where to start
__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Im like Jim if its under warranty I would return it.
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:05 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
You'd have to open it up and take a look. It could be something as simple as a loose connection or a short. Which model do you have?
__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:12 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
Have no idea but here is a pic of the fixture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-216400550.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	34193   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-81130384.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	34194  

__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:17 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Is there only one plug on the light Are the leds powered by the same cord as the moonlights?
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:23 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
Yeah there is toggle switch that let's me switch from day/off/moon. I'm breaking it down to take a pic of the guts
__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:29 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Do you have a 12 volt test light
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:32 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
My father in law mite have one I the garage but I have no idea
__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:34 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
You've got the Reef Bright model. Follow the KISS principle and check that you have power coming out of the switch to the white LED circuit.

Based on how the fixture functions, I'm guessing that the power switch is a three-position switch where you've got white light if it's toggled one way, blue light if it's toggled the opposite, and off in the intermediate position. If that's true, there should be two power connections coming off the switch. Check for AC voltage on the white LED side of the switch.

I'd still take it back if it's under warranty, especially after seeing that price tag.
__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:37 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
Yeah I'm thinking about it but I haven't registered the warranty so idk
__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:38 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
You will want to trace the wires on the led side and check for voltage it could be something as simple as the toggle switch went bad on that side or it could be a involved project
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:41 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
In most cases you don't have to register the warranty. The companies use the registration cards to try to gain market research information.
__________________
A man's errors are his portals of discovery.
Guide to The Fishless Cycle Cycling With Fish
My DIY LED Light Fixture
Feel free to PM me directly with questions.
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:41 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
I'm thinking the power thing is messed up
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2392706752.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	34195  
__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:42 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Is that a lose wire?
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:44 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
The black one broke and the brown piece has a gap between the plastic
__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:46 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
That sounds like the problem do you have access to another switch to try?
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:47 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Brough5754's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beech Grove, IN
Posts: 298
Not at the moment. That is the power socket tho
__________________
Brough5754 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 10:47 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
It will need to be a three way switch
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
led help azure bones Nano Reefs 3 02-28-2011 09:37 PM
led help azure bones DIY Projects 5 02-26-2011 08:25 PM
LED lights ahochan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-27-2009 05:43 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.