Lighting/Hood QInquiries

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KentCurtis

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everybody. I have a 20 gallon high tank and with it came a 24" full hood with a fluorescent bulb. Somehow I got a crack in my hood on the left side and was already thinking of getting a new one for lighting purposes. I am a newbie and don't really understand how the hoods/bulbs work. Im looking to make a planted tank out of this 20g, right now the hood is "19 watts" and the bulb in it is "15 watts". I asked in another thread about bulbs and was told to get "anywhere between 5000K and 10000K color temperature" for my tank. What im getting at is that I need a 24" hood that can support that kind of bulb. It wont be HEAVILY planted, but I am looking to get a decent hood/light. The lights I have found are all 20w - 40w but I cant find the measurements on hoods ive looked up online. Can anyone give me some suggestions? Thanks all, sorry about the lengthy and possibly confusing post

oky doky

u have a 15 wat bulb over your tank now.
that is pretty low for plants in a 20high.

i would get a incondesent hood and use 2 compact flouresent bulbs! maybe 25 watts each at something greater than 5000k! very cheep and grows plants well

Thanks. Whats the difference between fluorescent and incondesent? I thought fluorescent was the way to go for plant growing