Looking for a good skimmer for 55g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottayy

Aquarium Advice Addict
I'm looking for a good skimmer for a 55 gallon (eventual) reef and fish tank. The fish are currently there, the reef is waiting until I get all of my hardware and setup done.

After extensive googling, I have no further knowledge of a "good" skimmer than I did when I started searching. Everyone has their own opinions and someone will praise one skimmer while another despises it.

In your experience, what would be a good skimmer? Preferably with a link to purchase it online.

Also I need the footprint to be less than 11" long by ~7" wide - and looking for an in-sump skimmer.

Under $200 would be amazing :D

Thank you.

Edit| I've been looking at this:
http://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=3578+4392+20033&pcatid=20033

Hey scott, I have the eshopps 150 and after break in it is pulling alot of gunk. I choose it cause I needed a small foorprint and the price was only $109 at a lfs.

If you have the money I'd suggest an octopus if not the eshopps will do you fine imo.

Yeah I was looking at the Octopus 110
Looks like that is what I will get.

The first chamber of my sump has my heater and filter sock. It is 4.25 gallons and approx 12" x 9"

Will there still be water in there or will the skimmer use it all up. I didn't know skimmers were that big. Will I overflow?

Can you post a couple of pictures of your sump for me please??

Meh, it sprung a leak so I just bought one.. waiting on it now. But if you view 'My FINAL sump thread' in hardware/equipment there's lots of pictures of it.

OK, so back on topic. I stupidly grabbed a seaclone 100 when at the LFS for $109. I had thought it was a different brand I remembered. I should've looked it up on my phone.