MH bulbs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ccCapt

SW 20 & Over Club
For those of you that use MH's, what bulbs do you use?

I've been using Hamilton 175w SE 14K bulbs for the last 5-6 years and have been happy with them. I tried those cheapo Ebay bulbs and thought they were junk.

I was checking bulb performance at Sanjay's Lighting site and decided to order Iwasaki 175w 15K's. Instead of PAR (Photosynthetically Available Radiation), Sanjay does his measurements in PPFD (Photosynthetic Photon Flux Density), which is a measure of the number of photons in the range of 400-700nm falling on a 1 meter square area per second.
The Hamilton 14k's are 29 PPFD while the Iwasaki's 15k's are 71 PPFD (which, by the way, is higher than many 250w bulbs). I'm going to have to light acclimate my tank when I add these new bulbs as there is quite an increase in output. Has anyone used these bulbs and if so, how do/did you like them?

I figured I would add this if anyone was interested. This is the performance of all the bulbs Sanjay tested using a 175w Advance magnetic ballast. The CCT is the actual color of the bulb. The Iwasaki is 15,215k colored bulb.

Last edited:
That's pretty cool. I'm assuming you want the spectrum to peak between 400 and 460nm?

Well, I'm no lighting expect by any means, but the 400-480nm is the blue-er (is that a word? lol) end of the spectrum and is typical for 14k-15k bulbs to spike in that area.

Cmor,
I tried the 14k bulbs from Greatdel for $10 each. The color was good at first, but I noticed right off the bat they weren't as bright as new Hamilton 14k's. Then 1 bulb blew out in 2 months (the seller did send me a replacement) and they started shifting color...it got really yellow after about 4 months.