Need Advice - Connecting an External Pump to Wet/Dry Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chiselchst

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone - I would appreciate some input on connecting a pump to a new wet/dry filter.

I need to drill a hole in the filter acrylic and install a bulkhead to connect the suction line to my new Little Giant external pump.

Are there any tips you all can provide? Do I want the pump to set on the cabinet bottom, or should it be attached to a peice of wood or anything? Should it be raised any?

Also, if I route the discharge line BELOW the water level, would a checkvalve prevent a siphoning back of the entire water level during a power outage, or should it be located above the water line...?

Should I use all rigid PVC, or flex?

I know, a lot of question, LOL.

All input greatly appreciated...I have never done this before.

Thanks,
Mitch

I've never done it either, but I am setting one up & done a bit of reading ....

I personally will not trust a check valve to stop back siphoning when the pump stops. I tested a setup in my backyard, and with 1/2" tubing, the water was coming back at about 5 gal a minute when I shut off the pump ... won't trust any valve with that kind of flow. I am going to drill a small hole (say 1/8") an inch or so below the water line to proviode for a siphon break when pump fails, and of course I will make sure I have enough room in the sump for that inch of water.

Where to place the pump ... One consideration is what happens if your overflow quits. I would place the pump intake at a level so that if the overflow is plugged, the pump will run out of water to pump before it overflow the tank.