Planted tank nightmare

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TracyH

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello

I am a total newbie and I apologize for the long post but I feel the more information I give, the better my answers will be. I currently successfully keep a 10g horribly over stocked tank and decided to upgrade.

I purchased a used heavily planted, high tech 92g RR corner tank. Yep, go big or go home!!

The tank came with 5year old Aquasoil, dozens of mature plants (don’t ask what kind, I have no idea yet), a sponge prefilter system on the drilled discharge side (sponges are mush), a 600gph pump, Red Sed OFC 375 UV, the cartridge is the color of coffee and approx 10 years old (I was told it is a rinse and reuse), the UV bulb is approx 10years old and was only used occasionally. The light system is home made HO (the small tubes) 24” x 4 bulbs and 36” x 5 bulbs. CO2 system is running through a regulator without working solenoid into a homemade reactor and then to the discharge fitting of the tank.

This system was up and running with over 100 fish in it when I picked it up. The only issue I saw was a ton of black beard algae, which I scrubbed out with vinegar before I set it back up. I also trimmed all damaged leaves off of the plants.

After 3.5 weeks of fighting water quality with it not cycling despite reusing everything and never letting anything dry out, I am still getting bright gold water between water changes that have been made daily.

That led me to research which led me to believe that the tank is about the only salvageable part of this system.

I am planning on stripping the system and starting over and need opinions on my plan and a little advice when it comes to the filtration. Starting from the top this is what I have purchased.
Current LED Satellite Pro 36”x2 and 24”x1
Seachem Prime water conditioner
All new prefilter sponges