Possible Suggestions for New HOB (or Possibly Canister)?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Osage_Winter

Aquarium Advice FINatic
If my AquaClear 110 continues to go in the direction it's going, that is, return flow almost down to a near trickle, I think I am just going to chuck it and replace it with another filter -- I'd like to stay with a powerful HOB, but I suppose I would consider a canister although I have no experience with them, at all...

What would be recommended in the HOB area first outside of AquaClear for a 60 gallon goldfish tank -- Marineland? Tetra Whisper? Perhaps another Aqueon (they have replaced the QuietFlow 55 I own with a new, more powerful model)? Am I looking over any brands here?

If I go with a canister and simply add it to the two HOBs I have now, can someone walk me through how a canister filter works, briefly?

Thanks.

I have no skill whatsoever and I got my fluval up and running in about fifteen minutes. LOL

Its just trays if media of your choosing that stack with sponges for the mechanical part on the side.

I can't say I've had any issues at all with my unit and I've been in there quite a few times to tweak my media.

I'm surprised at the AQ I'm currently running 2 on 2 other tanks with no problems at all. That would have been my first suggestion.

Good luck!

I have no skill whatsoever and I got my fluval up and running in about fifteen minutes. LOL

Its just trays if media of your choosing that stack with sponges for the mechanical part on the side.

I can't say I've had any issues at all with my unit and I've been in there quite a few times to tweak my media.

I'm surprised at the AQ I'm currently running 2 on 2 other tanks with no problems at all. That would have been my first suggestion.

Good luck!

Hey Carey!