power filters: which is best?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snowdrop7

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi there,
I just bought a Top Fin 29 gallon aquarium kit (a complete newbie) and would be very happy for any advice as to the best power filter (quiet) to use. I'm not sure the one that came with the kit is adequate. I've searched online and 3 came up: Marineland Emperor (but people say it's noisy, or Penguin (also noisy), or the cheaper Whisper version, but does it have 3 stage filtration?

aquaclear are very good filters... the whisper filters are junk, i dont like the marineland filters because ive had some bad experiences with them...

I have the 2 marineland penguin 200b power filters (up to 50 gal) on my 55 gal tank. If I keep the water level up they are nearly silent.

Plus as I stated in another post I am away from home frequently for work, and water changes can be less frequent than is recommended. I never have a problem with my water condition. (Even after a 10 month stint between water changes)

Now I am not advocating this filter so you can get out of doing the water changes that are needed for the health of your fish, but I think this is a great testimonial for these filters. If you want silent then go with a canister (I hate mine it is a pain to clean)

Agree Whisper filters are junk.

If you want a HOB filter the
Hagen Aquaclear 50
Aquarium Filters: Hagen AquaClear Power Filters
or Marineland Emperor 280
Tropical Aquarium Filters & Filtration: Marineland Emperor BIO-Wheel Powerfilters
would probably be top choices for that size tank.

You should also look at canister filters like the
Rena filstar xp2
Aquarium Filters, Filtration & Water Quality: FilStar Aquarium Canister Filter
and Fluval 205
Aquarium Canister Filters: Hagen Fluval Multi-Stage 05 Series Filters