Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-16-2008, 09:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
Protein Skimmer help

Hi guys. I just got my skimmer in the mail today (octopus NW-100) and I am trying to set it up. I am having a rough go, as the ENGRISH directions they sent are basically just scratchy drawings on a page with no words. CLUELESS!!!!!
Anyone have this skimmer or a similar one or know their way around how to set this bad boy up? Or a link toa page that does?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
okay.. i hooked it up i think correctly fo the most part, who knows... but nothing is making it into the cup. there is ust some really bubbly water in the chamber.

1. how do i know if it is working
2. what adjustments should i make
3. wow my sump is mad packed out lol
__________________

__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
i think its running to "wet" but i dont really know what this means. it just seems like it should be more airy and less watery. LOL i am clueless i love it.
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 10:10 PM   #4
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
Usually there is a break in period of a week or two for it to start skimming correctly. Give it a little time. You should be getting some dark green skimate.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 10:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
the water in the chamber is just bubbly water, there isnt really any bubbles happening that are just foam. also the level doesnt reach the top of the cup. is this normal? how high should the water go up in the chamber... and will the foam start to form over time?
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 11:32 PM   #6
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I have the NW 200...same thing as yours but a little bigger.

1- Do you have it in a section of your sump where the water level stays the same? It should be in 6"-10" of water.
2- To skim wet or dry, you raise or lower the output tube. The water line inside ther skimmer can be anywhere from where the neck just starts to taper up, up to the bottom of the actual neck.
3- It will take a good 2 weeks to break in and start to produce nice skimmate.

Here's some pics of my sump and skimmer.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 03:32 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
yes water level is OK i think. Do you mean the water level should be up to the collection cup? or its fine at almost any level you desire?

also, why does it have to break in? what technically is going on there?
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 07:52 AM   #8
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
Read this

Skimming Basics 101: Understanding Your Skimmer by Frank Marini, Ph.D. - Reefkeeping.com

SkimrArt
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:28 AM   #9
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandown123 View Post
yes water level is OK i think. Do you mean the water level should be up to the collection cup? or its fine at almost any level you desire?

also, why does it have to break in? what technically is going on there?
If you look at the pic of mine, I marked where the water line is...about 1/2 way up the taper to the neck. You can go higher....to where the taper ends, but don't go any higher than that.

The break-in period is just the time it takes for the production oils to be removed from inside the skimmer and for the skimmer get a slime coat in it.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 05:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
ah i see in the pic, i missed that one be4. I raised the leve. Also thanks for the article that is very extensive. I'm sure it will start better bubling soon. I'll update later.
-thanks
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 08:05 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
not really getting any foam out of it.. The water inside is bubble-filled, but there is no foam collecting at the top and rising up into the cup. Everyone in a while the water level rises, and i see there is very little bit of light tea colored skimmate in there, which is i guess a good thing. Wondering if I am not getting enough foam out of it for one reason or another?
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 02:41 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
It needs to break in for a week or two. Give it time.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 01:12 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
Guys. The thing is working about the same as it was the day I hooked it up.

NO FOAM!!!!

Sometimes it looks like its ABOUT to foam and maybe it will sometimes. Also it ends up sometimes with a little bit of light colored skimmate, which I cant see how because the lack of foam should pretty much prevent this... maybe its just random condensation. Even if my tank is not dirty, which i highly doubt is the case, shouldn't i at least get foam. Maybe the p ump is really piss poor.

What do you guys think.. it should be broken in and then some by now.
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 02:56 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandown123 View Post
Guys. The thing is working about the same as it was the day I hooked it up.

NO FOAM!!!!

Sometimes it looks like its ABOUT to foam and maybe it will sometimes. Also it ends up sometimes with a little bit of light colored skimmate, which I cant see how because the lack of foam should pretty much prevent this... maybe its just random condensation. Even if my tank is not dirty, which i highly doubt is the case, shouldn't i at least get foam. Maybe the p ump is really piss poor.

What do you guys think.. it should be broken in and then some by now.
I bought a SeaClone 100 venturi and stuck it on my 20 gal reef AFTER reading this thread and I have had foam for days. So I guess I'm on the "should be broken in by now" side.
__________________
clearerphish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 03:01 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
yeah its definitely not right, im just wondering what to do about that little fact lol
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 03:51 PM   #16
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Can you take any pix of it? I would like to see how deep it is in the sump and how high up you have the sliding standpipe. Also, if possible, mark on the pic where the water inside the skimmer ends and the bubbles start.

Quote:
I bought a SeaClone 100
I wouldn't expect much out of that. I never used 1, but they don't get good reviews.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 04:29 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
i am at work i will do so when i get home. i can just tell you though.

I have the skimmer up to about 6 inches in the water. the standpipe is almost all the way, if not all the way up. the bubbles are like less than a centimeter off the water level.. it just literally doesn;t foam.
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:35 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
skimmer began magically skimming! plenty of foam for all! thanks.
__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:24 AM   #19
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Good deal! You will be happy with that skimmer. Mine also took a good 2-3 weeks before it started pumping out the sewage.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 10:53 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 329
any mods you recommend cccapt? its running good now but im sure you mustve done something to hot-rod yours
__________________

__________________
mandown123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, protein skimmer help, skimmer, skimmer help

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
***FOR SALE*** RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:47 PM
RedSea Prizm Skimmer PROTEIN SKIMMER *TRADE* mike3epanda Archive 0 09-08-2007 09:44 PM
FS: AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer w/ Skimmer Box (USED) jmh2536 Archive 1 07-26-2006 02:45 PM
Coralife Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-20-2006 07:27 PM
Protein Skimmer SerLunchbox Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-03-2005 02:51 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.