Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-02-2011, 03:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 39
protein skimmer..im stuck!!!..

hey guys..i would like to get some advice from the pro's regarding on a new protein skimmer that i purchased..it is an ESHOPPS PSK-100..and it is a in sump protein skimmer..i've assembled it together like what the directions said..but im stuck..what do i need to do next?..i know that i need a sump..but what do i need to connect it to the tank..do i simply buy a pipe to connect it to the tank or what??..please help guys..im really excited to put my tank together..TIA..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-10-02 14.12.31.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	92.5 KB
ID:	54629   Click image for larger version

Name:	2011-10-02 14.12.55.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	54630  

__________________

__________________
...patience is a virtue...
snickers450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
just set it in the sump and turn it on. Then adjust the water height in the cup. that's it.
__________________

__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 39
what do you mean?..so how's the clean water would go back to the tank..im very confuse..from my understanding..i need to put the skimmer into the sump and that's it right..i know that i sound stupid right now..but im really confuse..thanks for the reply KDOGG85..
__________________
...patience is a virtue...
snickers450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:29 AM   #4
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Just place it in your sump. It will work best in 7"-10" of water, so you may need to build a stand for it depending on how your sump is laid out.
The water will get sucked into the skimmer thru the pump and it will come out thru the T near the bottom of the tall pipe.

Also, it looks like the elbow the pump is connected to is upside down. It should be pointing toward the bottom of the skimmer.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 39
thanks for you reply ccCAPT..yeah i'll double check the elbow..ok let me see if i get this right..so the sump should have a tube or pipe connected to the tank in order for it to siphon water from the tank..right???then put the protein skimmer in the sump???
__________________
...patience is a virtue...
snickers450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 02:18 PM   #6
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Yes. You need an overflow box on the tank if it's not a drilled tank to get the water down to the sump.
Reef Aquarium Filtration: Eshopps Overflow Boxes
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 05:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 39
so all i need is the OVERFLOW BOX and a SUMP..and let gravity do the work..ok i got it now..i guess??..LOL..thanks ccCAPT..ok i have one more question..what would i be able to eliminate if i have a drilled tank?..thanks for your patience..
__________________
...patience is a virtue...
snickers450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 06:02 PM   #8
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
If you bought a tank already drilled it would have the oveflows built in and you wouldn't need the overflow box.
Do you have a pump to get the water from the sump back up into the tank?
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 05:40 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 39
thanks for your patience ccCAPT..i have not purchased any tank yet..im still trying to weigh all of my options..so, if i buy a drilled tank all i need to have is a sump pump right?..so that the water would circulate from the tank to the sump..but if do not have a drilled tank i need an overflow box and a sump pump..right?.can you check this item for me and give me some feed back please..
Over flow Box Kit free pump Included | eBay
or any suggestions..BTW i would be buying a 75 gallon tank in 2 weeks..what do you prefer drilled or not drilled..thanks..
__________________
...patience is a virtue...
snickers450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:18 AM   #10
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
That overflow kits looks OK, but I would do some research on that pump first to see what kind of flow rate you will get with head pressure. If the sump is 4' below the tank, you need a strong pump to move the water uphill.

I prefer a drilled tank. It makes plumbing it much easier. You can take a look at my build thread (the link in in my signature) to get an idea of how a drilled tank and sump is setup.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 08:11 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
kdogg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 506
I also recommend getting a drilled tank. It doesn't cost that much more and you don't have to worry about losing syphon from an overflow box.

As for the pump, find one that closely matches the flow rating of the overflow. If the height from the bottom of the sump to the top of the tank is 4 ft, get a pump that matches the overflow rating at 4ft.
__________________
kdogg85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 07:31 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 39
hey guys..just an update..i've decided to go with 75 gallon drilled tank..what do you guys think about this sump pump..it looks good to me but i need some opinion..
Eheim 1048 Universal Aquarium Pump 160GPH - English
thanks..
__________________
...patience is a virtue...
snickers450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:00 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
issihavok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
all you need is an over flow box and sump you could make them your self its very inexpensive if you look at my diy post on my profile you could see how i have my protein skimmer set up in my refugium all i paid for the overflow and refugium was about 55 dollars so if you ahve any questions on how to do it let me know. also i recommend you put your skimmer in the last part of your refugium next to your water return submersible pump. heres a link to how i have mine set-up home made overflow and refugium sump - YouTube
__________________
issihavok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:40 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
a drilled tank is the way to go. and make sure on in your return line u put a small hole just under the water line in the DT to break any siphon going from the dt to the sump witch would most likely overflow the sump. i would advise against putting your skimmer in the last section of the sump. if u ever plan on getting adding a fuge to house some copepods or any other type of live foo, u dont want you skimmer sucking up all your pods. allow your skimmer to remove most of the unwanted waste before flowing through your fuge then back to the dt. if u are not planning on ever have a refuge and going with a straight sump setup then it dosnt really matter where u put it. IMO
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:14 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
issihavok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
paul weck is right if you plan on having fish such as mandarins which copepods are essential then dont put your skimmer in the final part of your sump.
__________________

__________________
issihavok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
protein, protein skimmer, skimmer, stuck

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help on deciding on a protein skimmer please! Jarrett Saltwater Reef Aquaria 46 09-16-2011 07:05 PM
For Sale: Protein skimmer Jabibi Archive 5 09-11-2011 09:05 PM
For Sale: Reef octopus extreme 160 protein skimmer Jabibi Archive 0 08-29-2011 10:17 PM
Protein skimmer and light guidance ozorowsky Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 30 07-29-2011 02:07 PM
Rio Nano HOB Protein Skimmer? torontofc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-02-2011 02:50 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.