Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-06-2010, 01:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
Question about sump

I have a 50 gal reef tank. I have a 12 gal tank that used to be running, but now it just sits in my closet. Can I use it in a grav fed sump? If so how do you set them up? And what do you put in the tank?
__________________

__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 05:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mitchell0605's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wollongong Australia
Posts: 2,757
By; What do you put in the tank? Do you mean what do you put in the sump? If you do then you put your heater etc. in the sump. As for the rest, I don't have a sump so go nuts everyone else.
__________________

__________________
~ Mitch

Follow my 6G Pico build!
Mitchell0605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:33 AM   #3
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Melevsreef.com - What is a Sump?
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 02:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
Man, all seems so difficult. I don't think I got the time or money for all of that stuff. I thought you could just put a smaller tank under your tank, pump the water through and put stuff that cleans the water in that tank ex. skimmers, live bacteria, plants ext. Guess I'm an idiot. Thanks guys.
__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 03:51 PM   #5
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Nope, it can be that simple. just water in , heater, water out.. or just water in/water out for that matter.. It only needs to be as complicated as you want it to be. You just need to make it big enough to suit your purposes. Baffles are there for a reason but not required.. etc etc....
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 04:52 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
Baffles are not that hard to make either, though with that small of a tank I'd skip the baffles and just use for keeping the heaters.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 08:02 PM   #7
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
You`ll do just fine. I had a 10 gallon sump for my 55 gallon tank. Gravity fed down and pump back up. Real easy.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
Did your 10 gal have stages, or was it just the tank. If it was just the tank, what was in it? Sorry, also can you tell me a little on how you set it up?
__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:01 PM   #9
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
It was a 10 gallon wet dry. Been a while so I cant remember what size pump.

BTW moved to the General Hardware and equipment discussion forum
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 12:50 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
I think Im starting to fighure it out.
__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 01:31 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 54
it pretty easy as said, doesnt need to be complicated, or expensive as usually, just move your equipment you have in the main tank, to the sump.
i use a 10gal tank for a sump on my 55gal.
i went to lowes, they sell plexiglass exactly the right size to fit in the tank, if you want to make baffles. i did, mainly for noise and also wanted to put live sand in mine, baffles keep it from getting to the pump. but you could just do away with baffles.
only issue really is a 10gal isnt big enough for a lot of the 'in sump' protein skimmers etc. my protein skimmer, which hangs in the tank, is to tall for the 10gal.
plumbing not as hard as it seems. unless you want fancy. just a feed in and a pump out. either by purchasing a hang on syphon or drilling tank (maybe a little extreme to start) or you can do like me, and build your own syphon system. using just PVC pipe. little complicated but some good designs on the net, granted, the DIY ones do have some cons, such as cant see if syphon breaks, also hard to make them surface skimmers, which is nice to have.
i say go for it. if nothing else, it will increase your total volume, which is always a nice thing.

i use a quietone 2200 pump, but mine is located in the basement so has about 7foot head it has to life the water, you wouldnt need anything that big, if it under the tank. i think im pushing about 350gph, not measured it, but estimating. my syphon only at about half capacity.

pic of mine. but it is still in development stages, i change it bit as it goes. nothing fancy ir complicated. just houses the heater, some mechanicl filtration and a little bit of live sand, although i dont believe that essential, long as you have pplenty of live rock in the main tank. i just dont have enough live rock yet. plan on putting a couple mangrove plants in it, probably remove a baffle then, for space.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo5.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	61.2 KB
ID:	22437  
__________________
bobberwobber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:04 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 382
Thank you, really apretiate the help. I am gonna go for it.
__________________

__________________
Kelso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To sump or not to sump, that is the question eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 01-19-2010 03:41 PM
Sump question? 2nicewitit Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-21-2008 10:03 PM
To sump or not to sump that is the question neptune General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-25-2006 07:15 PM
Sump question ... Lighting question. dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 07-27-2003 12:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.