Recommendation for canister filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

C.w.deegan

Aquarium Advice Regular
Looking to get a canister filter for one of my tanks I have never used a canister before I was looking at a few on Amazon they are all priced relatively the same between 100 to 150 for ones rated for 50 75gallon tanks I'm gonna be using it on my new 55gal I'm setting up any recommendations on brand or a specific model I was looking at these 3 on Amazon Screenshot_20220404-085006_Amazon%20Shopping.jpgScreenshot_20220404-090029_Amazon%20Shopping.jpgScreenshot_20220404-090108_Amazon%20Shopping.jpg

I like the fluval cannisters. Never had an issue that wasnt caused by my own mishandling, ready access to spare parts if i need them in a hurry.

I would personally look for a cannister rated for double your tank. I have a 406 on a 55 gallon, so 407 would be the new model equivalent. I would be fine with a 307 though.

All 3 of those brands in your pic have a good reputation. Although I would avoid any that has built in UV. Ive read bad reviews about built in UV on the polar aurora/sunsun/allpond solutions canisters (all 3 brands are the exact same filter).

I would be worried about the Fluval, a F6 cost around 350 dollars . I don't know how you can get it for 100 dollars without it being a scam. ( So please look in that if you are thinking of getting it)

The SunSun or whatever they are calling teh Gray one can be hit or miss. I had a Sunsun work great for years on my Turtle tank, then break like at year two. But when it was working the water was spotless. If I didn't know he pooped in there you could drink it.

I would be worried about the Fluval, a F6 cost around 350 dollars . I don't know how you can get it for 100 dollars without it being a scam. ( So please look in that if you are thinking of getting it)