recommendations on rodi unit

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jereli

Aquarium Advice Freak
Anybody recommend any rodi units? I have never used one before but since I am getting more lazy about going to the water store I will buy one. I don't need to make 150gpd. I also want to use it as drinking water if that matters... it will save me many trips to water store.

I am guessing I will probably be making around 50 gallons a month just an approximation... does that mean that if I get a 150gpd rodi unit I will be changing the membrane less often then a 100gpd unit?

carey how long have u been using this unit and how often do u replace the filters or what ever cartridges need to be replaced

I've only been using it a few months. I bought a TDS meter for like $15 so I can tell when the filters need replacing. Supposed to get 6-9 months out them at least from what I read. I think it has the lifespan of each cartridge listed in the ad on ebay.

Oh I see thanks..I still need to do some more research not sure what to choose. What are some units that anyone else is using?.. trying to gather some info before buying one.

Denwhite16.. how much water does your unit waste to produce filtered water? Or do all these units waste the same amount of water. Also what the main difference between these

Mine does around the same, maybe a little less waste water than Carey's. I'm pretty sure it's pretty much the same across the board. I save my waste water in 5 gallon water jugs and give them to my wife to water her plants with.