Rena XP2 quite noisy.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Marconis

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am new to canister filters and have a newbie question. I put in some new media today (bio balls and filter floss) and am having some difficulties. When you push down the quick disconnect lever, air should start rushing out of the spray bar, right? Or no?

I am asking this because, when I do it to mine, nothing happens at all. Then, after two minutes, when I turn the filter back on, air is coming out of the spray bar. There is in fact water coming out, but a lot of air is visible as well. Everything is tight, or at least I think so. Is this not priming correctly, or am I just an idiot?

If the canister is empty when you push the quick disconnect lever down, then the inflow of water "priming" the tubing and the actual canister will force air out through the spraybar until the canister is full. If you're just doing maintenance and don't empty the canister, you probably won't get much if anything when you first open the valve on the quick disconnect. However, because you did have it open, an air pocket will form at the top that may not get pressed out with just reconnecting the quick disconnect, but when the pump starts working it will slowly get rid of the captured air.

I think everything you're seeing is normal, and you shouldn't worry. While the air coming out is ugly to look at, it shouldn't last more than an hour or so generally, depending on how much air got in the canister when you had it open.

Alright, thank you Neilan...as always :). I'll wait a bit to see if the air decreases.

No problem.

If it doesn't decrease after a while, you've likely got an air leak somewhere.