Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-10-2010, 06:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
RO/DI Units

I was reading that you have to have a plumber to install an RO/DI unit is that true?
Or does it depend on the unit that you choose?

http://www.fosterandsmithaquatics.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=3578+4395+4453&pcatid=4453

Installation Instructions
NOTE:
These units should be installed by a licensed plumber to adhere to all local codes. It is the responsibility of the purchaser to ensure all fittings are tight and that codes are met. Warning: Household water pressure can cause leaks and damage surrounding building and fixtures if not properly installed. User must check ALL fittings for tightness. Kent Marine assumes no responsibility for water damage due to leaks.
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 08:37 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I know lots of reefers who aren't plumbers (including myself) that have installed RO/DI units themselves. It's not that difficult and there is no cutting pipes or soldering involved.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:44 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
Take a look at the Reefkeeper Installation guide from AirWaterIce to see how easy it really is.

AWI is also a sponsor of this site, so please consider the one of their RODI units.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:53 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
Would those instructions be for ALL RO/DI units are just theirs?
Also correct me if I am wrong I saw somewhere's that it take up to 15 minutes to get 1 gallon of RO water is that correct?
I am assuming that you have to keep the water running during the entire process correct?
And what effect will it have on the WATER BILLS?

Also which one would be the best 75GPD or 100GPD and what is the GPD?
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 12:58 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
Those instructions are for most RODI units. Not all units come with the all the parts mentioned. so check to make sure the saddle tap is included, or how much extra it costs.

RODI units produce different amounts of water depending on the RO membrane. I have the 150GPD (gallons per day) membrane in my Typhoon III. I replaced the original membrane last year after 5 years of service.

Most RODI units will waste about 4x the amount of water produced. It all depends on how efficient the RO membrane is, the pressure of the tap water and the temperature.

RODI units produce best with water over 50 degrees and about 60 - 70 psi.

I have a booster pump to bring my 45psi tap up to 70psi for my RODI unit and it now produces water at the rated 150 gallons per day (6.25 gallon per hour).

You need to check on the RO membrane efficiency too. The 75 and 150 are in the 98% range and the 100 is about 92% (from memory).
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 01:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
So in order to get atleast 30 gallons I would have to let the water run for well over 5 hours? Is that correct? OMG what a water bill that would be ... I may have to go another route to get RO water.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 01:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
What about the water that you can get out of the machines at the grocery stores can that be used ? Or the Distilled Water?
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 01:51 PM   #8
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwilliams View Post
So in order to get atleast 30 gallons I would have to let the water run for well over 5 hours? Is that correct? OMG what a water bill that would be ... I may have to go another route to get RO water.
The water will be turned on and running that long, but it's not like you turn on a hose and let it run. The good water just barely trickles out...it's sort of like a fast dripping faucet.

There is no cheaper way to get RO/DI water than owning your own unit.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 01:52 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
Well in my setup I went form wasting water on a 4:1 rate down to a 2:1 rate. I would expect you would get similar if you have a tap pressure of at least 50psi.

Store bough water needs to be tested with a tds to make sure their filters are changed and you are getting 0 tds water. Distilled water is fine. It's hard to imagine store bought water being cheaper than making your own. I guess that depends on the cost of your tap water.
What does it cost for 90 gallons from the water company?
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 02:37 PM   #10
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,697
Reverse Osmosis Aquarium Water Quality: Maxxima RO/DI Units

The one I use operates off a garden hose. I use it out in the tool shed.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:34 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
Well in my setup I went form wasting water on a 4:1 rate down to a 2:1 rate. I would expect you would get similar if you have a tap pressure of at least 50psi.

Store bough water needs to be tested with a tds to make sure their filters are changed and you are getting 0 tds water. Distilled water is fine. It's hard to imagine store bought water being cheaper than making your own. I guess that depends on the cost of your tap water.
What does it cost for 90 gallons from the water company?

The water that I was speaking of is the ones that are in the machines at the Grocery Stores where you bring your on containers to fill them up. Some cost anywheres from $.25 to $35 cents a gallon just do not know how good that water would be for the SW tanks because it might have other stuff in it that is not wanted. I just don't know very much about those machines at the stores.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:07 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
mwilliams, I am in the same position as you are. I don't want the huge increase in water bills, or to buy this expensive unit. But of course I want a successful reef, so I'll eventually get one when I get the funds. I am definitely going to get this:


Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
Reverse Osmosis Aquarium Water Quality: Maxxima RO/DI Units

The one I use operates off a garden hose. I use it out in the tool shed.

You just hook it up when you're using it with the hose and that's it! You don't have to worry about connecting it to a sink or other pipes (I'm afraid I'll ruin something). If I get it before you, I'll let you know how simply it is.
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:14 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
Please do let me know how it works for you because I am trying to get the other small stuff for my up coming purchase of possible a 180G RR tank but I am having second thoughts on that size right now. Although the fish (Desjardin Sailfin) that I have right now has to have at least a 125g tank and I am still wanting to get a few more fishes and they to will require a large tank. The sailfin has already quaddroppled in size since I bought him. I did not know how fast they grow. My Yellow tang has not grown anymore in quite sometime now he seems to be the slow grower of the two.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:29 AM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
If you are going to have a tank that size I would strongly recommend you getting your own RO/DI unit.

The link that uscamaro provided is a good option but you can get an equally good unit for less than half that price on ebay. Have a look at this RO/DI unit. That is what I have and have been using for nearly 5 years.

Shop around is my suggestion before buying one that says "Kent" on it.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:33 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
How easy is it to hook up? And how long does this one take to process the water?
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:35 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I have mine hooked up under the sink in the kitchen. Give me a second and I'll take a couple pics for you. I can fill a 5g bucket in about 45 minutes. The water waste water that would go down the drain I collect and use for my FW tanks and to water my house plants.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:35 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
Also if I am to get that size of a tank what size or brand for the Refuguim will I need?
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:39 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
Yes please do send the pictures this is the best price and rate for the water I have seen so far for an RO/DI unit.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 12:00 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Here are some pics of my RO/DI unit.

The first pic is the "T" I got to come off the cold water supply under the sink. It was about $3 at Lowes. The silver supply line coming from that is 1/4" and is 18" long.




The silver supply line connects to another shut off valve so I can control the RO/DI unit separate from the main waterline going to the sink. Screwed into the shutoff valve is a john guest fitting and then into a clear line that goes into another fitting and into the unit itself.







Hope that helps with the RO/DI unit install. It's really very simple and there are a lot of different ways to do it. If you print these pictures off and take them to Lowes they should be able to match up the parts I used and you can do something similar.


As for your sump, I'm not a big fan of prebuilt sumps. If you want to look into a custom sump then you need to talk to Marc Levenson. He is in Dallas/Ft Worth so not too far from you. Have a look at his site he builds custom sumps and does an AWESOME job. If you talk to him tell him I sent you!
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 12:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 884
Got it thanks. I checked out his sight very nice but the cost of the custom built sump and shipping would be more then just buying it at the stores. Just will have to keep looking around maybe even try to do one myself if I can. Not much of a DIY persons. But can always give it a chance.
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO/DI units....need help bavass General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-25-2010 08:45 PM
RO/DI units - which one? Caige General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 08-20-2008 05:02 PM
RO/DI Units ??? Charlie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-11-2006 09:25 PM
Which one of these RO/DI units should I get? lmw80 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 06-22-2006 10:58 PM
RO/DI units kribbz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 05-07-2003 12:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.