sump pump?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

techo

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys,

So I am diving into the sump world to learn for my future upgrades into saltwater.

I have a 55 gallon tank with a 20 gallon sump, that I got from a guy on craigslist.

I was curious if anyone had any suggestions of good, but CHEAP, return pumps I could use. I am completely new to this so specific product names will really help.

The sump will be sitting approximately 3 ft below top of tank. I am not looking to get a crazy GPH because I do not want to pay for that much.

I am very curious in hearing what all you guys have to say and would love to know what you suggest and why.

The guy who had it originally said he used a 950 GPH pump, however, I do not think I need to spend that much money unless I absolutely have to.

NOTE: this is for a FW tank but will eventually be upgraded to saltwater. I will also have to HOB filters running on this tank as well so GPH is not a problem.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Any particular brands or price range?

Also if I get a pump with too low of a GPH will I have a problem with too much water in the sump before being returned???

techo said:
Any particular brands or price range?

Also if I get a pump with too low of a GPH will I have a problem with too much water in the sump before being returned???

Sorry I edited it to get the link to the one I use look above. The only problem I had with it was it was faster then my overflow so I added another and put a valve on the return line so I can control the speed of the flow.

Well thanks for looking anyway!

Do you by chance know that if my return pump is not powerful enough if I will have overflow issues or is this counteracted by just making sure when you add water to the tank you don't add too much to the sump correct?