Sump time?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

h8z2luze

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have never done a sump before I have a 45G acrylic tank with a sealed top except a few holes but nothing big enough for a skimmer and filter and all that SOOOO is a sump a good idea? If so how big and what all do I need? Thanks.

A sump is always a good idea. It will add water volume to your system and give you a place to hide unslightly equipment like a skimmer and heaters. It also provides a nice place to run chemical filtration. Size will depend on the space you have under the tank and personal preference.

Im thinkin a 10 gallon maybe or possibly a 5? I never thought of having the heater in the sump thats awesome. So how do they even work haha. I really need help with this one guys.

10g will work nice. You need a way to get water from your tank down into the sump. 2 ways to do that...drill the back of the tank or use a hang on back overflow. Not sure if you can even use an overflow if your tank doesn't have anyplace to hang it.
Then you need a pump in the sump to move the water back up into the tank. You can plumb it with pvc or clear tubing or a combo of both.

here is a pic of the top...

6o1849f.jpg

Is that a slot in the back middle of the top? And if so, how wide is it and how wide is the area from the back of the opening to the back of the tank?
You may be able to get a hang on back u tube overflow in there.