Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-13-2013, 05:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
taotronics lights

Hi my name is bigbanker and I'm terrified of my lights.

Haha.

Anyway. I just hung this guys and I'm not certain if it will hold. The lights came with a hanging kit which included four wires and a clip. Nothing to clip them to. So. I went out and purchased a hanging plant basket hanger. The lights weigh about fifteen pounds. Do you think this is secure???



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130113_175653.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	144009



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130113_175706.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	47.1 KB
ID:	144010



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130113_175723.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	144011



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130113_175735.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	144012
__________________

__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 06:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
I like it. Love the mounting bracket btw... Also I see you measured between picture frames also

Like me? A little OCD.

I think you'll be fine. Again looks good.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 06:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
I assume you hit a stud when you mounted that bracket? I think it will hold up - did it mention the weight it would hold? I am thinking about getting the same lights so Im curios to know how to mount mine...
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 06:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 22
I mounted mine like this, its an old clothes rail cut up to suit. Then fixed to wall with conduit clips. Really frim hold! Just thought i put this up for some ideas for others took me a while to come up with something i like look of and did the job.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2473591281.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	144041  
__________________
Pick1225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TommyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,227
My tank is against my wall and behind the tank is half closet door and half wall so I wouldnt be able to mount anything on the wall behind it. I would have to mount to ceiling I guess but would not know what to do. Not that handy. like the t5 brackets would be something I would love to get, but I guess they dont make them for the led set ups since normally they have to be hung a bit higher?
__________________
Salt Life
55g Reef tank
30g Freshwater tank
TommyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
I like it. Love the mounting bracket btw... Also I see you measured between picture frames also

Like me? A little OCD.

I think you'll be fine. Again looks good.
Haha! Thanks man! I trolled the web and couldn't find a ton of info on hanging them. I hate to admit... but I left the light hanging with a couch cushion under just in case it fell!

You know what drives me crazy?? No matter what I can't get the picture on the right straight. So I just refuse to look at it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyP View Post
I assume you hit a stud when you mounted that bracket? I think it will hold up - did it mention the weight it would hold? I am thinking about getting the same lights so Im curios to know how to mount mine...
I'm not the handiest person but I *think* I hit the stud. I also put the little plastic piece in and screwed that just in case. It didn't have a max weight. Lol! I'm going to weigh one of my plant baskets and the fixture to see the weight in comparison. This bad boy is super bright. Though I have no corals yet I'm excited to see what this fixture does.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pick1225 View Post
I mounted mine like this, its an old clothes rail cut up to suit. Then fixed to wall with conduit clips. Really frim hold! Just thought i put this up for some ideas for others took me a while to come up with something i like look of and did the job.

Very smart!!! Good deal! Will look into it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyP View Post
My tank is against my wall and behind the tank is half closet door and half wall so I wouldnt be able to mount anything on the wall behind it. I would have to mount to ceiling I guess but would not know what to do. Not that handy. like the t5 brackets would be something I would love to get, but I guess they dont make them for the led set ups since normally they have to be hung a bit higher?
Exactly! I was thinking of the t5 brackets as well. This fixture even on its lowest it is very bright .

Something else. I've read of this fixture catching fire. Has anyone heard of this happening recently?
__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:01 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
oyf709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 645
quick suggestion, you can move the light just 4 to 5 inches higher to eliminate all the shadow area on the sides. Right now it is clear that the two top corner of the tank is dark
__________________
We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
https://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...09/aqled-1.gif
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:28 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
Shall do.

I left the lights plugged in , but off, last night. When I woke up this morning the living room smelled metallic. Should this be a concern?
__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbanker View Post
Shall do.

I left the lights plugged in , but off, last night. When I woke up this morning the living room smelled metallic. Should this be a concern?
Could just be because the lights are new. Sometimes LED lighting or any type of new lighting will sometimes omit an order something like a metallic or even sometimes a sulfur odor(more with the energy saving bulbs)

I'd say your fine, not to worry you but it's the fire chief in me. You do have CO detectors in your house right? As well as smoke? Reason I ask is this.

Although CO has no odor, we all know this. Sometimes CO will accompany an odor.

Example. We've gone on numerous CO calls caused by a new cooking pan burning off whatever the manufacturer coats it with.

I know, long boring post, sorry.

To answer you, I'm confident you have nothing to worry about. It's the new light and when the cooling fan kicks on it will exhaust the odor. Should stop after a few days.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:56 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
If you are not certain that you hit a stud, you could always drive a nail a few inches above or below the hanger. If you hit a stud you will know it. If swinging a hammer near your tank sounds a bit risky try a drill instead. If you see wood shavings in your threads then that's a good thing.

If you are not hitting a stud I would use a Molly or toggle bolt. I feel they hold better than the plastic expanding wall hangers. Btw nice light.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3995691495.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	144206  
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:50 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Scottyhorse's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,823
BTW, I think you will be OK, because think of how much a hanging basket weighs, and if you hit a stud, you will be perfect.
__________________
Starting over...... Kinda.

3, 20, 25, 33 Gallon FW Tanks.....For Now


Scottyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:07 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post

Could just be because the lights are new. Sometimes LED lighting or any type of new lighting will sometimes omit an order something like a metallic or even sometimes a sulfur odor(more with the energy saving bulbs)

I'd say your fine, not to worry you but it's the fire chief in me. You do have CO detectors in your house right? As well as smoke? Reason I ask is this.

Although CO has no odor, we all know this. Sometimes CO will accompany an odor.

Example. We've gone on numerous CO calls caused by a new cooking pan burning off whatever the manufacturer coats it with.

I know, long boring post, sorry.

To answer you, I'm confident you have nothing to worry about. It's the new light and when the cooling fan kicks on it will exhaust the odor. Should stop after a few days.
Have I ever mentioned that I love fire fighters???? You guys are so very amazing. Thank you.

Anyway. I do have one CO detector and should probably buy another. Today's "burning" smell smelled different than yesterday's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
If you are not certain that you hit a stud, you could always drive a nail a few inches above or below the hanger. If you hit a stud you will know it. If swinging a hammer near your tank sounds a bit risky try a drill instead. If you see wood shavings in your threads then that's a good thing.

If you are not hitting a stud I would use a Molly or toggle bolt. I feel they hold better than the plastic expanding wall hangers. Btw nice light.
Thank you my dear. How do I go about finding a stud without drilling a million holes in my wall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyhorse View Post
BTW, I think you will be OK, because think of how much a hanging basket weighs, and if you hit a stud, you will be perfect.
They do indeed weigh about the same.

UPDATE: last night about four thirty in the morning, the light fell onto the rocks. The top portion of the bracket came out of the wall. I haven't tried the lights yet to see if they work. Gotta rethink this!
__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:14 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Well thank you. You could always get a stud finder.

http://m.homedepot.com/Tools-Hardwar...%7C24372454555

I'd check those lights!

New "burning" smell? No smoke so... I'm gonna stick with the new light theory. You don't have the outlet overloaded right? Your not tripping the breaker so I'll assume that's all in check.

Sorry to hear your light fell in the tank. Guess it wasn't into a stud.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:19 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Don't laugh but this is a pretty good video on "how to find a stud in a wall"

http://youtu.be/XALXlx5cc1s
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:21 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
Good deal! I didn't even know they made stud finders! This girl is off today so back to home depot I go!

Thanks for all your help! I'll let you guys know how it goes.

And thanks for the info on the light. I'm terrified of burning the place down!
__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:21 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbanker View Post
Good deal! I didn't even know they made stud finders! This girl is off today so back to home depot I go!

Thanks for all your help! I'll let you guys know how it goes.

And thanks for the info on the light. I'm terrified of burning the place down!
Your very welcome
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:25 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Don't laugh but this is a pretty good video on "how to find a stud in a wall"

http://youtu.be/XALXlx5cc1s
Yessss! Lol how amazing is that! Thanks again.
__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:07 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I bent a piece of galvanized conduit, bent it, painted it, and hung this halide from it. I used 2 clips to screw it to the back of the stand. Plenty strong, and I can swing it out of the way if need be.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:28 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
UPDATE: using the video I found a stud...... about an inch away from where I put it in the first place -_-'

I did purchase a stud finder just to be sure. I rehung the fixture but have not put the light back up.

I may go the way of Mr x and one other poster though. I like the plant bracket but I'm just really on the fence about it.... even though it was not what failed.
__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:33 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Did you rehang the bracket through the stud? The stud finder comes in handy. I recently mounted a bracket for a 32" flat screen TV...it took all of the guess work out. Good luck with your lights. At least the tank was not filled with water.
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, lights

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.