Unsure what aquarium, heater & filter to get?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jed Fish

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,
I am new to owning tropical fish so I need some advise on what aquarium, filter and heater to get. It will be in my bedroom, and I am a VERY light sleeper, so i don't want to be up all night unable to sleep with the noise.

I heard that the Aqua Clear is very silent, as is the Fluval. Is this true? The tanks I am deciding between is:

- plain (55L) glass tank with no equipment for $49
- Juwel Korall 60 (60L) which heater, filter and light included for $159
- Hailea F60 (60L) with heater & light but no filter for $179

I heard that the Juewl Korall filter is noisy, so perhaps it wouldnt be a good idea to go with this package deal? I want a great overall setup that will last. Any help you can provide is much appreciated.
Thank yoU!

From the couple of filters that I tried, the aquaclear was quiet(ish)....for most HOB filters where the motor is out of the water, you can kind of still hear it running. I have a very low quality tetra whisper 10i filter for my 10gallon tank, I prefer it because it is one that is fully submersed in the water, and I can't hear anything from it (tank is in my office at work).
Downside is that it of course is somewhat of an eyesore because it takes up some room in the tank, but it's black, so I'm fine with it.

But everyone says the aquaclear filters are quiet, and I didn't find it particularly noisy, just noisier than the one that's underwater, which is understandable.

It's definitely a superior filter though. Maybe I can sell you my aquaclear 30 if that's what you want to go with! I used it for a total of 10 minutes. Hehe! Just kidding...only kind of though. :) hope this little bit of info helped