Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-06-2008, 11:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
want2findnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 205
Question ups-what's really important to power?

Thinking of getting a UPS incase i have a blackout. But in the event of a blackout what would be the most important things to keep running?

Powerhead, pump, heater etc?

Does anyone have any recommendations for a product?

was looking @ this...

Ultra ULT31502 1000 VA 600 Watt AVR Backup System UPS at TigerDirect.com
__________________

__________________
want2findnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 145
All UPS are great. i have my filter and heater running on one and its saved me a bunch. check newegg.com and ccity, Tiger direct has outrageous shipping costs (not to rat on them) Be sure to get enough battery time for what you have to power.
__________________

__________________
chris127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:04 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Well, since I run 2 300W heaters in my 125 I only have the UPS for water flow.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 01:53 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
One heater and the main circulation pump are important. I don't bother with the heater because with a 125 the water volume takes a while to change temperature and the UPS doesn't last hours with a heater on it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 04:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
want2findnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 205
i kinda wanted to get two and plug the second one into the first one, then the pump and powerheads, heater into the second one...

what you guys think?
__________________
want2findnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 04:17 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle-ish, WA
Posts: 5,340
Here's a couple posts that might interest ya...

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ned-88546.html
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-me-87469.html

While I still have the Xantrex unit that I mentioned in that first post, I've since bought a little Honda Eco2000 generator. The Xantrex keeps everything going a few hours and gives me time to switch over to the generator if the outage is going to last a while.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 05:03 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I don't think you want to daisy chain two UPSes together. I believe they will both drain each other. At leas my two at work did.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 05:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
I use APC backups exclusively. They are a bit more pricey, but a lot more reliable IMO. I have one on each of my PCs and one for my Network server, DSL Router, and air pump. I invested in a small gasoline generator last year after having 2 5-day outages. I figure that the amount of time that the battery will be required to work (which is never very long) will be much longer than it takes for me to get the generator working. The filter and heater can easily be down for 30 minutes without harming my tanks, so I'm not too concerned with that. I imagine I would have to do a bit more for backups if I was doing SW, but we'll deal with that when I get to it.
__________________
Remember - in Aquaria, nothing good happens fast.
Starting a new tank? Click here for instructions.
47g tall FW, 10g planted, 2.5g planted office tank
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 05:11 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
I don't think you want to daisy chain two UPSes together. I believe they will both drain each other. At leas my two at work did.
Definitely true. Never plug 2 UPSs into each other. The way they utilize the power puts too much of a drain on the batteries that way.
__________________
Remember - in Aquaria, nothing good happens fast.
Starting a new tank? Click here for instructions.
47g tall FW, 10g planted, 2.5g planted office tank
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 05:21 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
want2findnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 205
cool, so i guess ill get two and plug them individually into (two ?) gfi's and for one ups have my pump in it and the other one have my powerheads in there.


So no need for heater and skimmer?
__________________
want2findnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 05:32 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Larger water volume will take longer to cool down, as cmor stated. I think for smaller tanks, maybe 1 heater (rated a lot less than the UPS), and 1 for the water movement would be my recommendation.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 06:11 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
want2findnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 205
Thanks a lot everyone...


How does one calculate the amount of time the UPS will last?
__________________
want2findnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 06:20 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
It has to do with the amperage of the equipment plugged into it. A standard APC Back-Ups UPS will last about 20-30 minutes with a PC and Monitor plugged into it. They are not designed to be long-term solutions, only enough power to allow your other back-up systems to be activated (like a generator), or for you to properly power-down the equipment.
__________________
Remember - in Aquaria, nothing good happens fast.
Starting a new tank? Click here for instructions.
47g tall FW, 10g planted, 2.5g planted office tank
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 06:31 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
want2findnemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 205
Hmm a generator is not somthing that is in my budget atm.

The power failures in my area dont last more than 30 minutes usually... So I just wanted to know how to calculate or maybe a chart i can look at.
__________________
want2findnemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 06:41 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
CatatonicBug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 607
Here is a link to the APC page that will help you to choose the kind you need for the wattage load you plan on having.
__________________

__________________
Remember - in Aquaria, nothing good happens fast.
Starting a new tank? Click here for instructions.
47g tall FW, 10g planted, 2.5g planted office tank
CatatonicBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uninterrupted Power Supply (UPS) questions Aquarium1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 47 09-07-2009 09:50 PM
UPS and GFCI and Power Interruption DallasFish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 08-31-2008 09:15 PM
UPS roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 11-28-2006 02:32 PM
UPS for Brownouts? ewolff Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-15-2006 02:00 PM
Anyone use a UPS? Enki Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 11-22-2003 11:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.