Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2020, 11:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Water levels

Ok so what is supposed to be I tested my water and this is what mine is

PH- 7.6
High range Ph- 7.4
Ammonia- 0.25
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- 0
__________________

__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 12:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Can you give some more details about the tank.

Is it the tank in your other post? What size is it? What filter? Does it contain any fish? If so what and how many?

The water parameters tell me that the tank isnt cycled. If you have fish in there, because of the 0.25 ammonia reading do a 25% water change. Continue to test daily and if you see detectable ammonia or nitrites do a 25% water change. Dont add any more fish until you are seeing nitrates rising and have 0ppm ammonia and nitrites consistently over a period.

I would also do an ammonia test on some bottled water to see what a 0ppm test result looks like. If looked at in bad light on a non-white background then a 0ppm result can look like 0.25ppm.
__________________

__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 12:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Water levels

Yes it is the tank in the other post
55 gallon tank
Itís a marineland canisters
No fish in it yet waiting for water to be good

I used this stuff on itClick image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0202.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	212.6 KB
ID:	316673
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 01:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
How are you planning to cycle the tank? Fish in or fishless?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 01:06 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Also. Colony marine is for saltwater. They do a freshwater version. Are you doing a saltwater tank?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 01:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
No saltwater
I asked on here someone else said it was for freshwater fish. So I guess I will just have to drain and start all over again. This bites oh well
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 01:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
You dont need to drain. I doubt it will harm anything, it just will die out in a freshwater tank.

Have you thought about how you will cycle? Fishless or fish in?
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 01:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Water levels

Donít know which is better. Maybe do mollies
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 02:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Fishless cycle is kinder on fish as you arent putting fish in until the aquarium is cycled. You can also fully stock your tank quicker than with a fish in cycle. Normally takes 4 or 5 weeks and you can pretty much fully stock.

Fish in cycle gets some fish in the aquarium straight away but you have to add in more fish gradually as the beneficial bacteria grows to colonise the filter and might be 2 or 3 minths before you are fully stocked. Some people see it as an inhumane way of cycling as the fish have to live in uncycled conditions. It also involves a lot of water changes.

Its up to you really. Depends on your priorities and sensibilities. Do a little research on both and see what is best for yourself.

If you go fish in, start with 1 small fish per 10 gallons.

If you go fishless, you will need an ammonia source to replicate the fish waste. Either pure ammonia, ammonium chloride (i use a product by Dr Tim) or fishfood.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 05:05 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
I think Iím going to do the fish less cycle way I have to wait for my fish tank hood to get here anyway
Thank you for helping And glad you said I didnít have to drain it I had a pitcher to put water in to fill it That was a endless back and forth thought I was never going to get done
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 05:55 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by bouncer36 View Post
I think Iím going to do the fish less cycle way I have to wait for my fish tank hood to get here anyway
Thank you for helping And glad you said I didnít have to drain it I had a pitcher to put water in to fill it That was a endless back and forth thought I was never going to get done
I would definitely get a syphon. Even a cheap one and a couple of buckets will make water changes so much easier than hauling a pitcher back and forth.

Fishless cycle link below if nobody has pointed you to it.

https://www.aquariumadvice.com/tips-...ishless-cycle/
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 09:28 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Water levels

What is the best ph up and ph down stuff to use
Trying to order some and does my ph levels be at?

It been a week today since I started my tank up
My

Ph- 7.6
High range ph- 7.4
Ammonia-0.25
Nitrite-0
Nitrate-0

I did a 25% water change on the may 18
And tested again on 20 ammonia levels was 0
Oh Iíve been using fish food in tank

Just ordered Dr Timís ammonia
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:14 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,296
Less is more. Dont mess with the ph chemically. If you truly need a lower ph than make your own water using rodi
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:20 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Is the ph level ok 7.6. I was thinking the ph of 7.0 was a neutral
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:21 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
What is rodi
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:43 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,296
.Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200523-154232_Google.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	124.8 KB
ID:	316760
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:44 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by bouncer36 View Post
What is rodi
Reverse osmosis de-ionised water. Basically water filtered until it contains no other elements. 100% water. You then have to remineralise it, so you can get the exact water parameters you require.

Regards your question about pH. Fish live in a wide variety of pH, it doesnt have to be neutral. Unless you are keeping fish that require a very specific pH (like discus or cichlids) fish will acclimate to the pH. I have pH around 7.2 to 7.5 so your pH of 7.6 should be fine. Its better to keep the pH stable than it is to keep raising and lowering it looking for a specific number.

Your local fish store will likely be using the same water you are (although some might use rodi) so the fish they sell will probably already be acclimated to whatever pH that is.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 03:58 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
Ok thank you
__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 06:35 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 48
Glad you're doing a fishless cycle. Take your time as it will take 3-8 weeks to complete before you can add fish. Good luck.
__________________
fishwonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2020, 08:54 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 37
So I tested the water again today

Ph-7.6
High range ph-7.4
Ammonia 0.50
Nitrite-0
Nitrate-0

Do you think I should go ahead and do a 25% water change ?
__________________

__________________
bouncer36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, level, water, water levels

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Lights | - »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water levels after water change senorkevin Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 01-06-2014 06:26 AM
I just measured the levels and would like some opinions on the levels. Camogirl28 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 45 12-28-2013 04:52 PM
How to Lower Calcium Levels? What can High Levels Cause? xxnonamexx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-11-2005 03:34 PM
Correct Water Levels mandarin man Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-27-2004 08:36 AM
Nitrate levels in tap water skiltrip Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-30-2003 08:35 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.