Who makes the best RO filters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vipvenom

Aquarium Advice Regular
I was just wondering who makes the best RO filter for your buck? and where can these be purchased? I only need a small volume RO filter 35-50 GPD but anything that has worked for you please let me know.

thanks,
Chris

Are you looking for the whole unit?
ro and ro/di are 2 different things, you just want a ro unit? IMO getting the Di also is worth the extra money.
airwaterice.com has nice units, ebay has units that people have been buying.
Do a search on the site there are a bunch of posts about this.

I haven't gotten it yet, but I just ordered from airwaterice.com. Walter was a lot of help and they've got competive prices.

newbie here, not trying to hijack this thread but is the RO/DI units somewhat the same as what Water Purification companies use to install at your home for water filtration to make clean drinking water. or is this something completly different?

can you use the home filter water for aquarium use? btw, jackdp which model did u get from aireaterice.com

There are many different kinds of filters out there, without knowing exactly which kind the company is installing its hard to compare. I just moved into a home with untreated well water, so I bought the home/reef dual unit with a permeate pump to increase efficiency. Like I said above, I haven't actually gotten yet so I can't really comment on the unit itself but the service was good.

I will do a search on this forum. I was thinking of the complete unit RO/DI. What are the price ranges for good units with the RO/DI?

They range a lot in prices... you can get some ebay units for around $80 and from vendors they can run over $200, it all depends on what you want.