Adding a new fish for my ten gallon Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nreyes6316

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everybody. I hope somebody can give me the best advice.

I have been building my 10 gallons comunity tank slowly for several months in order to give enogh time to the fishes get use to new enviroment.

My initial idea was to put there 5 albino cory cats, 4 males fancy guppies and 1 dawrf gouramy as a center piece of my aquarium.

So after three months I have 5 cories and 4 fancy males guppies. This week I was planning to put the dawrf gouramy in my comunity but my fish store told me that it is dangerous for my guppies because Guramies are semi agressive fishes so he does not think that adding that fish on my tank is a good idea.

My tank is well planted and it has a lot of hidding spaces for my fishes. It is completely cycled (ammonia 0, nitrite 0, and nitrate below 20). I do 30 to 50 percent water changes every 7 days with vacumm cleaning and I put little marine salt with every change. I also change the filter every 3 to 4 weeks. I also put tetra safe start every 4 weeks after a water change or when I add a new fish in order to help the biological bacteria growths faster. The temperature is set at 78 F. I think the tank is in a good condition. I have not lost any fish during that time.

My questions are very simple. What do you think about the store advice? And if he is right, what fish do you recommend in order to replace the gouramy as a center piece?

Thanks!!

dwarf gouramis need a bigger tank anyway

you are almost fully stocked you could propably add a couple more guppies but that is it